Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Mexican Turkey or Chicken Hotdish

on November 28, 2014

It seems appropriate to have a hotdish for the recipe for today – I’m sure that’s what Grandma would do with her leftover turkey.

grandma and grandpa

Doritos probably weren’t invented at the time of this photo of Grandma and Grandpa (taken sometime in the 50s – love her shoes), but if they were around, and she had tried this recipe, I’m sure she would have made it part of her file. This recipe comes from my mom who got it, I’m sure, from someone at work years ago. We all need to use up our leftover turkey and this Mexican Turkey or Chicken Hotdish is a great way to do it. It’s not the healthiest dish, but it sure is good. My kids ALL LOVE this hotdish. You might even say they’re addicted to it. We don’t have it every year, so it’s a real treat when I make it. I’m not too picky about the amounts on some of the ingredients. I’ve just made the meal of the year in our Thanksgiving Dinner and I don’t want to think too much or make too big of a deal of making this. I just make it as easy as possible. There isn’t a card from my mom for this one, so I’ll just type it out.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Mexican Turkey or Chicken Hotdish

Crush lightly:

1-6 1/2 oz. bag Doritos (I used a whole 11 oz. bag)

Mix together in a large bowl:

1 small onion, chopped

2 cans Campbell’s Cream of Chicken Soup

1 cup sour cream

1-3 oz. can chipped chilis

1/2 teaspoon garlic salt

4 cups diced turkey or chicken (fairly large pieces)

3/4 lb. Monterey Jack, shredded

Put 1/2 of the crushed chips in 9″ x 13″ glass pan.

Spread mixture from bowl over the layer of crushed chips.

Top the mixture with the rest of the chips and drizzle 1/4 cup melted butter over top (I didn’t use the butter).

Bake 40 minutes at 350 degrees.

Let stand for 10 minutes so it can firm up.

Be sure to use Campbell’s soup, the others are too thin and won’t firm up the hotdish.

003

It looks like this recipe makes a big pan of hotdish, but funny, in the end, there’s never enough!

010

The chips get crispy after baking, and the cheese melts and becomes so gooey and cheesy and yummy.

013

This is a delicious way to use up some of  your leftover turkey. It’s so good and so easy. Your family will be addicted to it, too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

