Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Scalloped Cookies

on December 3, 2014

This recipe for Scalloped Cookies is one of the reasons I decided to do this blog! The wording on this one is hilarious! My mom typed all of these recipes onto the cards at some point, but this must be a really old recipe. I wonder if it might have come from Grandma’s mother. We’ll never know. There are a lot of things I would ask Grandma if she were still here, even though we did talk a LOT about her family and things she remembered from her childhood. She was instrumental in my interest in family history and genealogy. This photo was taken of her before she and Grandpa were married.

grandma in snow

She looks so young and full of fun and hope. I wonder if she even dreamed then that she would leave such a legacy of love, laughter, and food!

This recipe was interesting because there are no quantities, no temperature to bake at, and no time to bake them. There are no eggs, which makes me think it might have been a depression era recipe. I’m sure they had chickens and had eggs available, but maybe the eggs were sold at that time. Grandma was also notorious for using the word “enuf” because I’ve seen it in other recipes that she wrote out. So . . . since this recipe is so vague, how would these turn out? I really had no idea. It’s a mystery that’s intrigued me since my daughter and I first looked through the recipe cards and decided we had to do these recipes – ALL OF THEM! It’s a continuing adventure. Well – here we go . . .

Scalloped Cookies

That’s it. That’s all there is. And I just have to say here – these are some of the most delicious cookies I’ve EVER had!!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Scalloped Cookies

Cream together:

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup cream

(equal parts butter and cream)

1/2 cup sugar

(little sugar)

Mix in:

1 cup flour

(enuf flour)

I used two spoons to make small dollops of the dough on the cookie sheet.

Mix together and sprinkle on top:

6 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

3 teaspoons red sugar

(put on top of cookies: sugar, cinnamon, red sugar)

Bake at 350 12-14 minutes.

Let them sit on the baking sheet for a minute to firm up a bit before removing to cooling rack.

018

I tried just a couple of cookies first. I had no idea what would happen. I started at 350 degrees at 8 minutes, but they didn’t seem quite done so I eventually went for 14 minutes. I did try baking at 325 degrees, but they didn’t seem to get as firm, so I went back to 350. My personal preference is a bit of brown around the edges.

021

I laughed out loud when I opened the oven door – there they were – “scalloped cookies”!!!

027

Letting them sit on the baking sheet for a minute helps them firm up.

047

You can see how thin and delicate they are. They’re the perfect tea cookie. They’re even good with coffee. Or hot chocolate. Or even plain.

029

Somewhere in there is a cross between a Spritz Cookie and a Krumkaka with a definite “Christmas cookie” flavor to them. I just can’t believe how good these are – probably on my top three list. It’s the simplest recipe ever, using simple ingredients, showcasing the flavor of those simple ingredients. My son and I just started laughing after tasting one, they’re so good. He was having flashbacks because they tasted so much like a “Grandma” cookie. We were missing her just then. Thanks, Grandma, for leaving us this legacy so we can still feel you here with us.

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Scalloped Cookies

  1. dosirakbento says:

    What a nice post and tribute to your Grandma 🙂

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

