Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Mosaic Fruit Slices

on December 12, 2014

I love Christmas. I have always loved Christmas. I think I was about 6 or 7 years old in this photo, and clearly, I was enjoying myself. I would lay on the floor of both grandparents living rooms for hours staring at their silver tinsel Christmas trees with the rotating color wheel.

40

I loved the light up plastic church with the red Christmas light bulb that Grandma kept in her dining room. I loved the manger or nativity scene with its painted figures of angels, shepherds, wise men, animals, and the holy family. I loved the flickering candles that I got to light every time we went to Grandma and Grandpa’s house. I loved the plastic ornaments with the vintage figures inside that hung on our tree. I loved the beautiful glass ornaments that hung on Grandma and Grandpa’s tree. I loved the records with the old familiar Christmas songs sung by the artists from long ago. I loved the tradition of it all. I love it all still today.

The recipe for today is so pretty and so Christmas-y, it’s sure to get you in the Christmas mood! These Mosaic Fruit Slices may be the easiest, prettiest Christmas cookie I’ve ever made! You can make them ahead and then just slice and bake.

Mosiaic Fruit Slices

 

I love the colorful red and green flecks of cherries in these cookies.

Here is the recipe as I made them:

Mosaic Fruit Slices

Mix in order given:

1 cup butter

1 cup powdered sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 1/4 cup flour

1 cup pecan halves

2 cups candied cherries, cut in half (I used 1 cup red and 1 cup green)

Chill dough for 1 hour.

Form in 2 long logs.

Chill 3 hours (in freezer if you don’t use them right away).

Slice into 1/4 in slices.

Bake at 325 degrees on ungreased pan for 12-14 minutes (I baked them until they were just a bit brown around the edges but the center was set).

036

Get the nuts measured out and the cherries measured and cut ahead of time. These are really full of fruit and nuts!

037

Mix it all and chill, then cut it in half the long way to make the logs.

053

Roll the logs in plastic wrap, roll on counter to smooth out and make the logs round, and chill again before slicing.

004

Then just slice and bake and that’s it!

012

The cookies don’t spread much, so you can bake a lot on the sheet at a time.

020

See how pretty and Christmas-y they are!!! You could make them any time of year if you just used red cherries.

023

These could be mixed up and in your freezer, ready to go when you need them. I love how easy these are! Give them a try! They’re easy AND tasty!

 

 

One response to “Mosaic Fruit Slices

  1. mom says:

    Oh my, I had forgotten all about those – thanks for reminding me…….

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

