Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Grape Nuts Pudding

on December 22, 2014

Today I’m sharing a Christmas card from sometime in the 1940’s of my Grandma and Grandpa, my uncle, and my mom. It’s such a classic! I love how they’re sitting there listening to my mom read a story. I’m sure it was the Christmas Story. My uncle looks thrilled! Haha! Grandpa looks so slick and dressed up and Grandma looks so lovely with her corsage. The whole set up is just great! Ah – those were the days . . .

2

Today’s recipe is called Grape Nuts Pudding, but everyone in the family knows it as Figgy Pudding. It’s a mock English Christmas pudding, and just the scent of the ingredients all mixed together smells like Christmas to me. We had this a lot when I was growing up, and it takes me back to family gatherings back then.

Grape Nut Pudding

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Grape Nuts Pudding

Dissolve one package of Orange Jell-O as usual.

Add:

3/4 cup Grape Nuts cereal

3/4 cup cooked prunes, cut up (I just used them cut up from the bag)

1/2 cup raisins

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

3/4 cup nuts, chopped

Let chill and firm up overnight.

Serve with whipped cream.

047

This pudding involves a lot of ingredients.

051

It already smells so good!

052

I know, I know. Just don’t look. It’s not the most appetizing looking thing while you’re mixing. I put it into a small bowl that I sprayed with cooking spray.

006

Warming up the outside of the bowl with warm water in the sink helps it come out of the bowl easier, and I also ran a knife around the outside of the bowl. Flip upside down on a plate and hope for the best. You can also just leave it in the serving bowl if it doesn’t come out. This one came out pretty easily. It looks just like a Figgy Pudding!

010

Topping the pudding with whipped cream helps the look of it and makes it so pretty! Don’t forget to sprinkl it with the obligatory red and green sugar.

009

This is a strange-looking thing, but it’s so good. So festive, so spicy, so Christmas-y!!

 

 

 

3 responses to “Grape Nuts Pudding

  1. mom says:

    Love that stuff, brings back lots of memories!!

  2. uncle paul says:

    I think it was either listen up or get hounded by Aunt Goldie to clean my plate later !!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

