Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Bouquet of the Month for January

on January 7, 2015

With all of the holiday hubbub, I am late getting my post out for the Bouquet of the Month for January! For the bouquet this month, I want to share my Christmas Cactus. Grandma gave me this plant and told me that it was from a plant that was originally from her mother. At least that’s what I remember her saying. I hope it’s true. Her plant was HUGE and she loved to keep it in a south facing window, both at the farm and when they moved to town. I’m not the best indoor plant person (I think I’m a bit better at the outdoor gardens) but I have managed to keep this one going for about 15 years.

003

I know it doesn’t look like much right now. The thing about the cactus this year is that it started blooming the week before Thanksgiving and is still blooming now. It bloomed a section at a time. Several blooms came out and were pretty for a week or so and then they were done and the next section would bloom. It has never bloomed like this before, so it’s interesting that it’s still going! Usually this plant would bloom all at once and then be done. It’s in a southeast (I wish it was south) facing window during the winter and it does ok there. Some years it has even been a valentine cactus and one year it bloomed around Easter time.

008

It’s not as big and beautiful as her plant was, but at least I haven’t killed it!

009

You can see that it does look like an old plant. The stems look pretty callused. It’s probably time to re-pot.

007

Surprisingly, I didn’t even see that there is still one more bud until I had these photos up on the computer. There it is – at least one more flower to come!

013

These blooms don’t stay long. The day before I took these photos, these were all in full bloom and now there’s only one left. I’m grateful for that. It’s been fun to see the sections blooming one at a time. I hope it continues into January when the splash of color would be much appreciated!

 

 

 

 

One response to “Bouquet of the Month for January

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

