Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Soft Gumdrop Cookies

on January 9, 2015

Believe it or not, I have some gumdrops to use up from a Christmas craft that didn’t get done. I was going to make some gumdrop ornaments that I’ve been wanting to try for a long time (it was a Martha Stewart craft). You don’t really see gumdrops around anymore, but I was shopping and happened to find some. Well, the craft didn’t get done and when looking through some recipes, I found this one that comes from one of Grandma’s sisters. So appropriate – Soft Gum Drop Cookies – and it uses the big gumdrops, which is what I have. I don’t think I would ever buy gumdrops to make these intentionally, so as long as I have the gumdrops, let’s give it a try.

Soft Gum Drop Cookies

I wouldn’t call these cookies – they’re bar shaped.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Soft Gum Drop Cookies

Mix together in order given:

4 eggs

2 1/4 cups light brown sugar

2 cups flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup nuts, chopped (I used pecans)

Fold into mixture:

18 gumdrops, cut in pieces (I cut them into 4 and used a few extra gumdrops – 25 of them)

Spread in jelly roll pan, making batter 1/4″ thick.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes (I don’t know what it is with these sisters – no temp given). I would try baking at 325  next time because the edges got a bit too dark and crunchy.

Cut into bars and dust with powdered sugar (they are easier to cut when warm).

001

These bigger gumdrops are the fruity kind, not the spicy ones.

004

I separated the cut pieces before folding them into the batter.

006

It looks like there’s not enough batter to fill the jelly roll pan, but I found that using a small offset spatula really helped to spread it.

028

I cut these into rectangular shaped bars for something a little different.

026

There we go – gumdrops all used up and in a most delightful way. Kids will love these. The colors fade a bit after baking, but you still get a fruity bite in every bar.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

