Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Money-Saving Meals – Tuna Casserole

on January 21, 2015

This one . . . is not my favorite. I’m not a fish girl. But we are trying to find meals that are budget conscious, and this is one of them. When we went on our trip to Sweden and Norway, as my sister said, I ate more fish than I had eaten TOTAL in my lifetime. It’s also all fresh right from the ocean right there. I grew up on a lake where we fished all the time, so it’s weird that I don’t like fish. I know, I know, everyone I know thinks that it’s weird, too. I don’t know what it is – I just can’t do it. I do remember Grandma and my mom both making Tuna Casserole when I was growing up, and the only way I could eat it was with crushed up potato chips on top. It sometimes still hits me wrong, and I just can’t do it. This is another one that I don’t have a recipe card for, and I’ve been making my whole life, so I’ll just type it out.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Tuna Casserole

Cook a bag of egg noodles according to package directions.

Mix together with:

1 can of tuna (I like it in water), drained

1 can of Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom Soup

1 can of peas (I have graduated to using frozen peas now and I used a half of a 32 oz bag)

Put into casserole and top with crushed up potato chips (half a bag or so), if desired (of course leaving them off is more cost-effective).

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour or until chips are brown and even more crispy on top.

2906

This has so few ingredients and is so simple.

2909

Mix it up and into the casserole dish it goes.

2914

Gotta top it with the chips!

2916

Bake and it’s done! That’s it! Simple!

2919

This is another one that is total comfort food – even if (for me) it’s just the aroma of it baking.

2924

Cost breakdown for this dish:

Tuna  .99

Cream of Mushroom Soup  1.39

Peas (frozen)  1.20

Egg Noodles  2.19

Potato Chips  1.25

Total = $7.02

 

 

 

 

One response to “Money-Saving Meals – Tuna Casserole

  1. mom says:

    Love it!!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

