Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Bars or Dessert #3

on February 6, 2015

I made a mistake on my last post! I used a photo of Grandma that I had used a couple of weeks ago. I guess I really liked that one! Ha! So since I doubled up on that one, I’m sharing a bonus photo today that is of Grandma and Grandpa’s first house (as long as we’re talking about sweethearts for the next week or so).

Bars or Dessert

The back of the photo says 1937-1938 and that this the first house that they lived in, that the car in front is a 1930 Chevrolet, and that my mom lived her first year here. I love the car tracks running up to the house. No snowplow or shovel there yet!

This recipe for Bars or Dessert #3  (#3 because of the number of “Dessert” recipes) is made with cherries. Grandma had a lot of recipes for things using cherries and it’s a good thing because MY sweetheart LOVES anything cherry (especially cherry pie). This recipe just LOOKS like Valentine’s Day!

Bars or Dessert

These bars are delicious!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Bars or Dessert

1 cup butter

1 3/4 cup sugar

4 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 cups flour

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Mix in order given, as for cake.

Spread in greased 11″ x 17″ jelly roll pan (keeping a little more than 1 cup of batter for topping).

Top with a can of cherry pie filling (can use pineapple or thick applesauce), spreading to within 1 inch of edge.

Put on remaining batter with a teaspoon.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

004

The batter is thick so I used a small offset spatula to spread it.

005

Try to spread the top batter out evenly.

008

I love how this looks. I think it’s more bars than dessert.

022

If I would have been thinking, I would have cut the bars out with a heart cookie cutter. Come to think of it, they didn’t last long enough for that, anyway.

017

These bars are sweet and delicious and just right for Valentine’s Day. My sweetheart thought so!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

