Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Can’t Fail Fudge or Frosting

on February 11, 2015

Today I want to share a picture of my favorite sweethearts – my parents, who were high school sweethearts. They were in a class together when they were juniors, started dating, and the rest is history. My dad enlisted in the army and they were married in April of 1960.

Cant Fail Fudge or Frosting

They look ridiculously young – that’s because they were! They were only 20.

The recipe for today is in honor of my mom’s obsession with chocolate. Can’t Fail Fudge or Frosting sounded like the perfect chocolate valentine treat. Well, this one was kind of my first fail with these recipes. Yes – I failed with the recipe that says “can’t fail”. Sometimes I wonder if the amounts or sizes or consistency of ingredients has changed over the years. I decided to make this recipe as the “fudge” and not the frosting, and it didn’t work out so well.

Cant Fail Fudge or Frosting

Cant Fail Fudge or Frosting 2

This would be a GREAT frosting, but it didn’t make such a great fudge.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Can’t Fail Fudge or Frosting

Combine in saucepan:

2 cups of cut up large or miniature marshmallows

1/2 cup evaporated milk

2 Tablespoons butter

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

Stir over medium heat until mixture comes to a full boil.

Boil hard for exactly 3 minutes, stirring constantly.

Remove from heat.

Add:

1 cup chocolate chips

Beat until chips melt.

Add:

1/2 cup nuts ( I didn’t add nuts)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Beat to blend.

Pour into greased 8″ x 8″ pan.

Chill.

015

When I make this again, I’d add a few more marshmallows to maybe make it a bit more firm.

021023

Everything seemed ok when mixing all the ingredients . . .

025

Looking good and firm coming out of the refrigerator . . .

997

Totally soft. I was able to get a few hearts cut out, and, I might add, it didn’t stop my family from finishing off this fudge. It did stick to the waxed paper (yeah – duh – use parchment  next time) but they found a way to be able to eat it. I think there was a spoon involved. The fudge was delicious and would make a VERY delicious frosting. I think I need to try again and use more marshmallows. That may help. Yes – I’ll try again – more fudge is NOT a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

