Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Cherry Pie with Pie Pastry

on February 16, 2015

Today I’m doing a Cherry Pie with Pie Pastry, Pie Pastry being Grandma’s recipe here. It’s part Valentine gift to my husband (cherry pie being his favorite) and part in honor of President’s Day. Thank goodness George Washington and his chopping down of the cherry tree (even though I think they’ve proven that story untrue) gives us a reason to have cherry pie. Cherry pie, when you use the filling from a can, is one of the easiest pies to start out with if you’re just learning how to make pie. I’m 2 years old in this photo and I’m sure I was upset because I wanted to make a pie and they wouldn’t let me. No lie.

Cherry Pie and Pie Pastry

I was in the kitchen, after all.

I started making cherry pie when I was about 10 years old and probably haven’t made it since I was about 12. Even though cherry pie is my husband’s favorite, I haven’t made it over the years –  I mean really, you just open a can. Ha. I moved on to bigger and better things – like Blueberry Pie.

Crust

This Pie Pastry was interesting when baked, as you’ll see later.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Cherry Pie with Pie Pastry

For pastry:

Sift together (I use a wire whisk to do this):

2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Use a pastry blender to blend in:

2/3 cups lard (yes – I did use lard for this one)

Add (by mixing with a fork):

4 Tablespoons cold water (I ended up using 6 – maybe because of how dry it is in our house this time of year)

Mix until dough comes together (I used my hands at the end to make sure all it all stayed together in a ball).

Makes enough for a double crust pie.

Roll out bottom crust and put into pie plate (I still roll it between two sheets of plastic wrap-no sticking).

Fill with your favorite pie filling.

Roll out top crust and put on top of pie (here I cut strips for a lattice top).

Bake at 375 degrees for about 25-30 minutes, or until crust is golden and filling is bubbly.

003004

Yes – I’ve come around to using lard – it really does make it sooooo flaky. Make the pieces about pea sized once you cut it into the dry ingredients.

006007

Split the dough in two and start with the bottom crust first. Use a sharp knife against the edge of the pie plate to cut off the excess.

008

Put in your can of cherry (or any other kind you want to use) pie filling.

011

I use my 30-year-old pizza cutter to cut the strips for the lattice top. Just weave them in and out or just lay them on top of each other in a woven-type pattern. Then I used an egg wash and some sanding sugar on the top to add a little sparkle.

014017

Here’s the interesting thing about the pastry after it was baked. It puffed up! You can see how much thicker it looks after baking. It’s not really thicker – it’s puffed and flaky. That’s what happens when you use baking powder in the dough.

027

This pie pastry is a good contrast to the sweet filling. It’s light and flaky, and really holds up well to the pie filling.

025

Happy President’s Day, everyone! I cannot tell a lie – this pie is delicious!

 

 

3 responses to “Cherry Pie with Pie Pastry

  1. Susan J :o) says:

    Just curious, do you prefer glass or metal pie tins ?

    • I did like metal better only because the crust wasn’t getting done enough with a glass plate. Then I realized that it was when I used only butter for the crust that the crust wasn’t getting done on the bottom. Now that I’ve used lard for the pie crust a couple of times, the bottom crust seems to get more flaky and not so doughy.

  2. […] one baked pie shell (I used the recipe here, but made it for only one […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

