Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

on February 18, 2015

Today’s recipe for Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies is another one that comes from one of grandma’s sisters. I would guess it’s really an old one by the use of the fountain pen to write it out. I just love the look of fountain pen writing. I love the use of ink. I love that you made writing an event – it took some time to sit down and write to someone using that kind of pen. I love the sound the nib makes on the paper when you’re writing. I love the blank piece of paper, sitting there, waiting to be filled with who knows what: letters, doodles, poetry, stories, artwork. I do NOT love that they’re not teaching penmanship in elementary schools anymore. I hope we can keep that alive so that our grandchildren can learn to enjoy the art of writing with utensils and not just use their thumbs to communicate. Just look at the penmanship on this recipe card! Beautiful.

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies 2

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Cream together:

1 cup butter (I didn’t use lard in these – all butter)

2 cups sugar

Add one at a time:

2 eggs

Add:

3 squares unsweetened baking chocolate, melted, cooled slightly

2 teaspoons vanilla

Blend.

In separate bowl, sift together:

1 1/2 cup flour

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

Add to creamed mixture.

Mix in:

2 cups rolled oats

1 cup nuts (I used walnuts), chopped

Bake at 350 degrees for 18-20 minutes (note that there is no time or temp on the card).

1116

This makes a nice, thick dough, full of oats and nuts.

1122

I used my trusty scoop to make even sized balls of dough.

1128

They came out puffed and chewy, but ended up being a crispy cookie.

1129

Just the right stack with a glass of milk! That’s what my husband said anyway, before he ate this one. Seriously.

1135

Give these a try. They have oatmeal in them. That means they’re good for you. Well, I don’t know if they’re actually good for you, but I do know that they’re good. Really good.

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

