Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Frozen Dough Rolls

on February 27, 2015

This recipe for Frozen Dough Rolls is another one that comes from one of Grandma’s sisters and originally came from her daughter, who is my godmother. My mom has been close to all of her cousins over the years, but this cousin has been very special because they were so close in age and raised almost more like sisters. That’s why she’s my godmother! This photo is of Grandma’s sister and my godmother. I LOVE the look on my great aunt’s face. Is she a proud mama or what?!

43

It looks like my godmother is about a year old here. I LOVE the dimples! What a cutie!

I tried this recipe to send with my husband on his “Guys Weekend” and it was quite the experiment. This is a bit of an odd recipe – one that sounds almost too weird to work – but it does! It’s so easy that it almost seems silly.

Frozen Dough Rolls

Frozen Dough Rolls 2

This is great to have on hand for weekend company.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Frozen Dough Rolls

Butter a 9″ x 13″ pan generously.

Place 2 dozen frozen rolls on it.

Sprinkle rolls with 1 package of regular butterscotch pudding (not instant).

Bring to boil:

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 stick butter

Pour over pudding on rolls.

Let stand until risen (about 3-4 hours or so).

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes (I would bake at least 10 minutes longer next time).

I will say that I would have baked mine a bit longer because the rolls in the middle of the pan didn’t get done. The butterscotch pudding and caramel makes the rolls a golden color to start with, and it’s kind of hard to tell if they’re baked enough.

002003

This is the rolls with the pudding sprinkled on and then the caramel poured on top.

005006

I put plastic wrap on top of the pan for the rising so they don’t get dry and crusty. They really do rise and fill the pan.

010

After baking, they’re almost popping out of the pan! They look done, but they weren’t done in the middle.

017

I turned them upside down on the cooling rack to cool. I put a piece of parchment paper on the cooling rack first to catch all of the gooey caramel. It was shocking how much caramel there was!

024

They come out golden and delicious. I wouldn’t have thought they’d look like this when I first read the recipe.

035

This really is an incredibly easy recipe that would be great to try this weekend, especially if you’re having weekend company. I highly recommend it!

 

 

One response to “Frozen Dough Rolls

  1. mom says:

    YUM……………………

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

