Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Reese’s Peanut Butter Bars

on March 4, 2015

There were a lot of surprises in Grandma’s recipe file. Here is a big surprise – this recipe is one that came from me! I feel good about the fact that there were a few that I gave her and she kept. She didn’t keep recipes unless they were really good. Obviously, I was young when I gave her this one, I can tell by the handwriting on the card! We used to make this recipe a lot in our family, but I haven’t made these Reese’s Peanut Butter Bars recently. I have a little problem with these bars. I can’t stay away from them. They are a definite red-light food. I’m not the only one – we have a lot of peanut butter lovers in our family and these don’t last long.

Reese's Peanut Butter Bars

These are so good!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Reese’s Peanut Butter Bars

Mix together:

1 cup butter, melted

2 cups graham crackers, crushed

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 cup smooth peanut butter

Spread in 9″ x 13″ pan.

Melt:

1 12 ounce package of chocolate chips

Spread on top of peanut butter mixture.

042

The peanut butter mixture looks a bit sandy before spreading it in the pan.

044045

Spread the peanut butter mixture in pan and then spread the melted chocolate chips on top of that.

047

You can put the bars in the refrigerator for a few minutes to firm up the chocolate, but not too long or you’ll have a problem cutting the bars without the chocolate cracking.

062

These bars taste amazingly like the real thing. Go ahead and make a batch, but don’t say I didn’t warn you! You won’t be able to stop!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

