Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Split Pea Soup

on March 6, 2015

Today’s recipe is one that both of my grandmas would have appreciated. They both came out of the Great Depression, and they had to be frugal. This picture of Grandma says it was taken in February of 1936. I LOVE this photo! There is also a photo of grandma and her 3 sisters sitting in this same snow bank. I LOVE that one, too, but they must have also taken individual photos of all the girls. I love her little hat, and her striped mittens, and the way she’s sitting in the snow. It looks like they had a lot of snow that year. I’d like to think that they all went into the house, after posing for photos in the snow bank, and had a nice bowl of soup!

Split Pea Soup

Both grandmas would have loved that I was being so frugal. I made Split Pea Soup with the ham bone from our Christmas ham. This soup could also be under the heading of Money Saving Meal,s like the Turkey Soup I posted in January, using the carcass from our Thanksgiving turkey. I just put the carcass of the turkey and the ham bone into plastic freezer bags after we’ve taken all the meat off that we can, and put them in the freezer until later when we need some nice, warming soup. This Split Pea Soup is so economical and so good. We’ve had such cold weather here in Minnesota this winter, that I’ve found myself making as many soups as I can. I don’t really have a recipe card, so I’ll just type it out here.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Split Pea Soup

Put into crock pot:

1 pound of split peas, rinsed (make sure you inspect them for anything you don’t want in there, like small rocks)

1 ham bone (you could also just use cut up ham)

4 carrots, cut in 1″ chunks

4 celery stalks, cut in 1″ chucks

1 large onion, cut in 1″ chunks

3-4 medium potatoes, cut in 1″ chunks (I had 1 gigantic russet that I cut up for this)

Salt and pepper to taste

Thyme (if desired, but I didn’t use this since our ham was from Christmas and had spices from the glaze on it – our Christmas ham glaze is full of cinnamon and cloves)

8 quarts water

Put on lid.

Turn on high and let cook 6-8 hours, depending on how hot your crock pot cooks (I had mine on all day).

Take out ham bone and any bits that fall off of the bone.

Most of the meat will fall off the bone and you can easily pull it apart.

Return meat to crock pot and serve.

111

Split peas are such a beautiful color – my favorite color!

112

I’ve kept the ham bone in the freezer since Christmas, but this will work with an Easter ham bone, too!

113

It’s so healthy and cheap – most of this stuff you have in your frig – just keep a bag of split peas handy.

116

It seems like a lot of ingredients and water, but it does all fit into the crock pot.

117

This soup is delicious. Period. Get this going, go out and play in the snow, and then come into your nice warm house and have a steaming bowl of this nice, warming soup.

2 responses to “Split Pea Soup

  1. Karen Dresser says:

    YUM!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. […] My family demands the same food – every year – for every holiday and occasion. I make this Easter Ham every year for our Easter dinner, but the exact recipe for the glaze does change from time to time. Sometimes I use honey or orange marmalade or crushed pineapple. Sometimes I use regular yellow mustard, but this is the basic glaze recipe that I use almost every year. This is also a money-saving meal because you can save the ham bone to make Split Pea Soup later. […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

