Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Soda Cracker Pie

on March 9, 2015

The recipe for today is another one with an unusual name. You wouldn’t think a pie made with soda crackers would be this good (it sounds kind of weird) but it is!! I may even put this one under “Retro Oddities” because of the soda crackers in it. This recipe is actually labeled Soda Crax Pie (I renamed it Soda Cracker Pie), and because my mom is the only person I know who used to write the word “crackers” as “crax”, it may have come from her. It looks like maybe she was the one who wrote the title, but then Grandma finished writing the recipe, so it may have been Grandma’s recipe and my mom was just writing it down. Who knows?!! I don’t care! I’m just glad we have this recipe, unusual as it is, it’s so good!

Soda Cracker Pie

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Soda Cracker Pie

Mix together for crust:

3 egg whites, whipped

14 soda crackers (saltines), crushed

1/2 cup nuts, chopped (I used walnuts)

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup sugar

Put mixture in VERY well-greased pie plate.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Cool.

Add:

1 cup whipping cream, whipped with a little bit of sugar (I used about 1/4 cup)

Top with:

1 small package frozen strawberries, well-drained (fresh berries would be great, too)

Keep refrigerated.

209

I put the crackers into a zip top bag and use my trusty rolling-pin to crush them. I think the food processor would turn the crumbs to powder and it wouldn’t be the same.

212

The crust is chock full of good stuff with the soda crackers and nuts.

215

The crust bakes up golden and crispy.

217

Whipped cream is just always good.

222

I think I would use fresh berries on this next time. I’m sure when this recipe was first made, fresh berries weren’t as readily available in the winter as they are now, or they might have been more expensive then frozen berries.

223

You can see here (in the pie plate) how important it is to grease the pie plate VERY well. I thought I did grease it very well and it still stuck a bit.

228

This is a delicious pie that’s a bit unusual. The crust is like a light meringue cookie crust, and how can you go wrong with whipped cream and strawberries on top. It’s another very easy, very good dessert that tastes like a breath of spring.

 

3 responses to “Soda Cracker Pie

  1. Mom says:

    Makes me hungry looks soooo good!

  2. Rita Holm says:

    Carla, I am thinking that this might be an acceptable recipe for someone with diabetes if an equal amount of Splenda was substituted for the sugar. There is no flour or lard in the crust…the carbs would only come from the crackers. There would be the fat in the cream but wondering if one couldn’t substitute a lower fat Cool whip…I may have to try this one day!!! Thank you!

    • Thanks, Rita! Let me know how it comes out if you try it with Splenda. The cream is really only a topping so I would think it would work to put whatever you want on top with any kind of fruit. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

