Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chocolate Macaroons

on March 13, 2015

We’ve had some nice warm weather in Minnesota for the last couple of days. Can we really start to feel like spring will eventually come? I sure hope so. I’m sharing a spring photo of my mom today.

27

She looks like she’s all dressed up for springtime with her pretty little coat, bonnet, gloves, and little purse. I’m sure it was spring – look how happy she looks, like she’s just getting out of the house for the first time in a long time!! 🙂 The photo says 1943 so it might have been right around her 3rd birthday. Her birthday is in March and she’s celebrating a special one this year!

Last April I posted a recipe for Swedish Macaroons, and I mentioned that there was also a recipe on the back of the card for Chocolate Macaroons that I would make at another time. The recipe for today is that Chocolate Macaroon recipe.

Swedish Macaroons 2 (choc)

These macaroons are so good and so rich and so chewy.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Chocolate Macaroons

Beat:

2 egg whites

Gradually add in:

1/2 cup sugar

Beat until it stands in peaks.

Add:

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

Melt:

1 12 ounce package chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate chips)

Cool a bit and add to egg white mixture.

Fold in:

1 cup coconut

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

Bake at 325 degrees for 20 minutes.

003

Once you add the melted chocolate to the egg whites, it makes a thick batter.

006

The batter gets even thicker when you add the coconut and nuts.

015

I didn’t use my trusty scoop to make these because I didn’t want them to be TOO big.

022

I expected the macaroons to stay in a “ball” shape but they spread and turned into “cookie” shapes.

026

These cookies are little bits of chewy goodness that even my son (who doesn’t like coconut OR nuts) liked. I believe his exact words were, “wow, these are really good!” Well, there you go.

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

