Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Butter Mints

on March 27, 2015

I remember having these Butter Mints at big family gatherings back when I was a kid, but I don’t know where they came from or who made them. All I know is that they were delicious and I LOVED them! I have never made them and when I had the excuse of making them for a birthday party, I decided to give it a shot. The birthday party is for my mom and here’s the birthday girl at about age 4 – what a sweetie! She’s celebrating a big birthday this year.

mom

I’m sure she wouldn’t mind me telling you that she just turned 75. I wanted to make these mints for the birthday party, so I looked up a recipe and found one from Emeril Lagasse – you can find the original recipe here. These only have 3 ingredients and are VERY easy to make. There is also the possibility that the mints that I had as a kid were made with cream cheese, but these made with butter are the ones I’m trying today.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Butter Mints

10 2/3 Tablespoons butter, at room temp

1 pound powdered sugar

1 teaspoon peppermint extract

Cream butter in large bowl with electric mixer until softened.

Add sugar and extract, mixing at low speed, until mixture is thick, creamy, and smooth, scraping down sides of bowl.

Divide mixture in 2 parts, putting each part onto a sheet of plastic wrap.

Roll up into a log about 1/2 inches in diameter and put into refrigerator to chill for 4 hours.

Scoop with a teaspoon measure, roll into balls, place on waxed paper, and press with tines of a fork.

Refrigerate until ready to serve (some people say to cover with a paper towel and leave them out for a day or overnight).

Will keep for up to one week.

019

Having done these mints now, I would have made the logs smaller in diameter. It would make it easier to roll the mints into balls. I did see that sometimes they are rolled into thin “snakes” and just cut with a knife into pieces instead of rolled and pressed with a fork.

064

I started out trying to use a teaspoon measure to get the balls all the same size, but it was nearly impossible when the logs are chilled. I tried slicing the logs into even slices and that worked pretty well.

051

I saw somewhere online, when looking for the recipe, that one person rolled the balls in granulated sugar. I tried that and I like how they look kind of sparkly. It also helps the mints not stick so much to the waxed paper. One more tip – don’t have the tines of the fork cover the entire ball when pressing it down. This allows you to gently use your fingertip to hold the mint in place while lifting the fork off of the mint.

061

These mints absolutely melt in your mouth. They’re great for parties, but they’re REALLY great anytime.  So good, so pretty, and so buttery – just like I remember!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

