Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Ham Loaf with Mustard Glaze

on April 6, 2015

Today’s recipe for Ham Loaf  is a good one for using your leftover Easter ham. I can’t even explain the aroma of this dish baking in the oven. My son came home from work while this was baking and he said, “wow – this really smells like Svea!” Grandma made dinner for us so often and, I can’t explain it, but there is a certain aroma to her cooking and recipes that is unmistakable. Sometimes it really makes me – and all other family members – homesick. I can’t say that I really miss her, because when I’m making her recipes, I feel like she’s still here and has never left us. This is definitely one of those recipes. It’s a great one!

Ham Loaf

Note, again, the “V. Good” connotation on this one!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Ham Loaf

Mix together:

1 pound lean ground beef

4 pounds lean ground ham (I used a boneless ham and used my food processor to “grind” it)

1 1/2 cup saltine cracker crumbs, crushed

3/4 cup onion, chopped

3/4 cup milk

2 eggs, slightly beaten

Makes 2 loaves.

Bake at 350 degrees for 2 hours.

Baste last 1/2 hour with Mustard Glaze.

Mustard Glaze

1 cup brown sugar

2 Tablespoons prepared mustard

2 Tablespoons vinegar (I used cider vinegar)

3 Tablespoons water

026

There are a lot of ingredients in this recipe and I tried to use my biggest bowl, but I had to use my big Tupperware container to be able to really get in there and mix it all with my hands without it coming out all over.

030

I made one loaf in a bread pan and 5 small foil pans to put into the freezer.

078

The mustard glaze gives it almost a caramel look.

083

Even though it seems like a lot to handle, this is really an easy recipe, and it’s so worth it!

085

This is a great recipe. Make a batch and start a tradition of sharing memories with your family.

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

