Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Power Balls

on April 15, 2015

I’ve been looking for a snack that my husband can take to work. He’s on the run all day and needs to practically set an alarm to remind himself to eat something. I got online, started searching, and found this recipe for Power Balls by Trisha Yearwood. You can find her original recipe here. These are really tasty, and even though you only need one or two of these, they’re so good that you may need to do what we do, and store them in the freezer so you (I mean, I) will leave them alone. I also love that you make these yourself at home, they’re made with all natural ingredients, and you can pronounce the names of all of the ingredients. They’re made with minimal extra chemicals (as far as I can tell).

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Power Balls

Mix all together (by hand or with a food processor):

2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

1 cup extra-crunchy peanut butter (I used a regular natural peanut butter, not extra-crunchy)

1/2 cup honey (the original recipe suggests raw honey)

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

1/2 cup dried cranberries (I used raisins for this batch)

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

2 Tablespoons flax seed (I used ground flax seed)

The original recipe says to pulse the ingredients together in a food processor, but I just mixed them in a bowl.

Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Line a baking sheet with waxed paper.

Roll into balls (about 1 1/2 Tablespoons – I used my trusty small ice cream scoop) and place on the baking sheet.

Refrigerate 30 minutes before serving.

004

The recipe says to put all of this in the food processor, but I like them chunky and I just used a spoon to mix the ingredients. Wait – these aren’t for me. Oh well.

008

They mix up easily and are ready to be rolled and put on the baking sheet.

015

The recipe says you should get 30 balls from this recipe, and I got 28. (No – I did NOT eat 2 while rolling.)

019

They’re great with a glass of milk, too, but I don’t know if they’ll even last long enough to drink the milk with them! These are so good!

028

Here they are, all packed up and ready to go to work. Good thing my husband has his own little refrigerator to store them in. I hope no one sees him put them in there. They may disappear!

 

3 responses to “Power Balls

  1. Mom says:

    Looks interesting………….

  2. Susan J :o) says:

    Thank you for sharing these with us — we love them ! I made them & took them to SD when we visited our kids & grandkids — they loved them. I made them again & shared some with 2 neighbors here at the lake cabin — they loved them. I shared the recipe again . Thank you for sharing with us ! We loved the blueberry jam, too :o)

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

