Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Sour Cream Coffee Bread

on April 20, 2015

This recipe for Sour Cream Coffee Bread is one of Grandma’s that I’ve had for, oh, I don’t know how many years. A lot. It’s so old, I don’t even have the original card anymore. This isn’t really a bread, I’d say it’s more like a coffee cake. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve made this. I’ve taken it to weekends at our mothers’ houses, I’ve taken it to friends, and I’ve used it as a gift. It works great to bake it, wrap it in plastic wrap and foil, and pop it in the freezer so you can just grab it and go when you need it. I’ll just type the recipe out for you here.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Sour Cream Coffee Bread

Pecan Mixture:

Combine and mix well:

4 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 cup pecans, chopped

Set aside.

For Cake:

1 cup butter

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

1 cup sour cream

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

Cream butter and sugar.

Beat in eggs one at a time.

Beat in sour cream and vanilla.

Fold in flour with baking powder and salt.

Spoon about 1/3 of the batter into a well-greased 9″ tube pan or angel food cake pan (I used a bundt pan).

Sprinkle about 3/4 of the pecan mixture.

Spoon in remaining batter and sprinkle with remaining pecan mixture.

When using a bundt pan, I sprinkle and spoon the opposite, staring with the pecan mixture in the bottom of the pan since it will be upside down. A tube pan comes out right side up, but it’s tricky to get the cake out of it as you have to get the cake off of the “tube” part without breaking it.

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

Remove from pan and cool on rack.

003

When using a bundt pan for this, I do put a little of the topping mixture in the bottom of the pan. When using a tube pan, save it for the top.

006012

Make sure to butter the bundt pan really well, put in 1/4 of the topping mixture, and 1/3 of the batter.

014016

Next add the last 3/4 of the pecan or topping mixture and the rest of the batter. I spoon it in and then smooth it out a bit with the spatula.

018

This was the first time I’ve made this coffee cake with my new bundt pan, and I think it got a bit darker than usual, yet at the same time it make a sort of caramel-y crust on the outside of the cake.

029

You could serve this coffee cake with butter or jam, but it really doesn’t need it. It’s not too sweet, and it’s surprisingly tasty.

039

You can see the ribbon of pecans and cinnamon running through the middle of the cake. This is another easy recipe that’s so good. Everyone will love it!

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Sour Cream Coffee Bread

  1. Mom says:

    SOOO GOOD!

  2. kristenchan0921 says:

    I love using sour cream in baking! Your beard sound very delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

