Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Almond Bark Cookies

on April 28, 2015

Today’s recipe comes from one of Grandma’s sisters, but it has Grandma’s name on it. The possibilities are endless for these Almond Bark Cookies. You could add any kind of cereal you want, and I think the idea of adding bright and cheery colored Fruit Loops cereal would be so great for kids. I used Cheerios with this batch, just because that’s all I had on hand. I do seem to remember Grandma making these when I was growing up, and I think she used Rice Krispies. I also seem to remember that she made these around Christmas time because they are kind of a candy, too, not just a cookie. Cereal always reminds me of staying weekends at Grandma and Grandpa’s farm. I don’t know why, but it was so exciting to go there and have cereal for breakfast. She would have several kinds of cereal to choose from, and that was so much fun! We didn’t have that selection at our house, because I don’t think some of us ate breakfast every day (Mom! Ha! She still doesn’t!). Grandma had a lot of cereal because they ate breakfast every day after the initial morning chores. I would assume that when you’re up at sunrise getting the livestock fed and other farm things ready to go for the day, you have a cup of coffee (or Postum) and/or maybe cereal before you head out, and when it’s everybody else’s normal time to get up in the morning, you’d be just coming in for a more/bigger breakfast. So she probably had plenty of cereal on hand to make this recipe. This is a great recipe any time of year. We’re heading towards summer and not wanting to heat up our kitchens, so now is a good time to share this recipe.

Almond Bark Cookies

This one is no-bake goodness!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Almond Bark Cookies

(This is a half recipe – the whole batch makes a lot of these cookies.)

Melt in double boiler (I used the microwave):

1 pound white almond bark

Stir in:

2 cups crisp cereal (you can use a combination of more than 1 if desired) of your choice: Rice Krispies, Cheerios, Fruit Loops, etc.

3/4 cup miniature marshmallows

3/4 cup cocktail peanuts

Drop by teaspoon on waxed paper.

Cool until firm.

I got about 3 dozen cookies from this half batch, but as usual, I probably made them bigger than Grandma would.

001

I might have to try some other kinds of cereal for these bars. The summer stretches out ahead of me, just waiting for treats!

007

I added an extra 1/2 cup of Cheerios because there seemed to be a lot of melted almond bark.

019

I tried to make these small, I really did. I didn’t make them TOO big. I wanted to. They seem a bit addictive to me. But that might just be me.

023

This is a great, easy recipe. You could top them with sprinkles, too, if you want to make them more fancy. These treats will be good for summer gatherings, camping trips, or weekends!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

