Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Lemon Nut Bread

on May 5, 2015

Between Grandma and her sisters, we have a lot of recipes using lemon. They’re all delicious, so it’s no wonder everyone in the family enjoys lemon desserts. There’s something about the aroma of a lemon dessert baking in the oven. . . it brings back such good, warm, loving feelings and memories. (My mom would argue that chocolate is better.) This recipe for Lemon Nut Bread comes from my godmother. I love this photo of she and my mom when they were about 3 and 4 years old, sitting in their little chairs, and having a reading session with their story books (my mom is on the left). They both still love to read and exchange books often! They must have passed on the “book” gene to me and my sister and my godmother’s kids. We are ALL book lovers!

Charlene and mom

They were such cute bookworms with their little curls and pigtails!

Lemon Nut Bread #2

This is a delicious bread that has a fantastic taste of REAL lemon!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Lemon Nut Bread

Mix all together:

6 Tablespoons butter, at room temperature

1 cup sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1 1/2 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup milk

Grated rind of one lemon

1/2 cup nuts, chopped (I used pecans for this)

Makes one loaf.

Bake at 375 degrees for 1 hour.

Remove from pan while hot.

Spoon over a mixture of 1/3 cup powdered sugar and the juice of 1 lemon to glaze.

029

This batter is so easy to do, and so tangy with the grated lemon rind in it.

030

It comes out of the oven golden and delicious.

032

Before I spooned on the glaze, I poked the top of the loaf with a toothpick so more of the glaze would get down in the bread. I don’t know if it worked or not, but I hope more got in there. The glaze makes the loaf so shiny and beautiful.

041

The real lemon juice in the glaze is so fragrant and delicious and tangy.

046

This is another very easy, very good recipe for a very delicious bread. It’s perfect with coffee or tea after an afternoon of reading all of your favorite story books.

One response to “Lemon Nut Bread

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

