Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Black Bottom Cupcakes

on May 22, 2015

The recipe for today is one that we took camping when I was growing up, and we went camping A LOT. If you knew my dad at all, you knew him to be somewhat obsessed with the outdoors. Well, not just somewhat obsessed, he was just plain obsessed. He was MR. outdoors. I think he would have just stayed outside all the time if he could. I remember him telling about how when he was pretty young, he would go out hunting and just not come back home for a few days. He looks somewhat independent in this photo, you know, like he’d go out and stay outdoors for days at a time. I bet he wasn’t much older than in this photo when he did that.

50

You can already see his outdoorsy-ness by his wearing the little flannel shirt! So cute! He loved to go camping, therefore, he took us camping when we were growing up. We camped a lot and EVERYWHERE: we camped close to home at county parks, we camped at many Minnesota State Parks, we camped while canoeing up north, we camped along the North Shore, we camped the Black Hills of South Dakota on the way to camping in Wyoming and Yellowstone National Park, we camped during trips to Colorado, we camped anywhere he could get us to camp. Most of our family summer vacations were camping trips. Number one, that was a cheap way to go. Number two, it made me and my sister also obsessed with and love the outdoors. Number three, it was really a lot of fun! Boy oh boy, do we have stories of those family camping trips! Ha! Maybe I’ll share some of them someday. Black Bottom Cupcakes are easy to bring along for any occasion. I don’t have the original recipe card for this anymore, so I’ll just type it out.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Black Bottom Cupcakes

Combine and set aside:

8 ounces cream cheese

1/3 cup sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 egg

1 cup chocolate chips (I used mini chips for this batch)

Sift into mixing bowl:

1 1/2 cups flour

1 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup cocoa

1 teaspoon baking soda

Add:

1 cup water

1/3 cup oil (I used canola oil)

1 Tablespoon vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Beat until thoroughly blended.

Fill paper muffin cups 1/3 full with chocolate batter.

Top each with a heaping teaspoon of cream cheese mixture.

Sprinkle with a little sugar and chopped almonds, if desired.

Bake at 350 degree oven for 30-35 minutes.

004

This makes a lot of filling. I ended up making two batches of the chocolate batter just to use it up, and believe me, you won’t end up with too many cupcakes because these vaporize pretty quickly.

007

The chocolate really will rise up and almost cover the cream cheese filling.

010

Its kind of hard to see, but I used sanding sugar to make the topping more crystalized and sugary.

017031

I made some with chopped, slivered almonds and some without. I think my mom used to make these with sliced almonds.

020

These are the perfect camping cupcake.

029

The cream cheese filling makes these so tasty and delicious that they really don’t need frosting. Make a batch when you head out on your next family camping trip. Get out there and enjoy the outdoors, and make some memories while you’re at it!

 

 

 

3 responses to “Black Bottom Cupcakes

  1. Mom says:

    Good memories!

  2. Lori Nistler says:

    I remember you making these back in high school!! They were the best!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

