Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Rhubarb Sauce

on May 26, 2015

The recipe for today is something very old-fashioned. I was not a big fan of this when I was younger (I definitely am now), but I know that my grandpas were BIG fans of Rhubarb Sauce. This is another one of those things that I imagine my grandmas made back during the Great Depression when you could grow plenty of rhubarb in the garden. It was a very inexpensive treat for entertaining. They didn’t always need to make dessert a big deal. This is just a simple, special treat that you only get in the spring when your rhubarb is fresh and plentiful. There are a million and one uses for this tart and delicious sauce. Here is a partial list.

You can put Rhubarb Sauce on:

vanilla pudding

vanilla ice cream

pound cake

angel food cake

shortcake (like strawberry, only rhubarb)

waffles

pancakes

iced tea

adult drinks

rice (ooooh – it would be so good on the creamy rice that Grandma used to make with milk – more on that at another time)

or even plain.

There was never a recipe for this. I remember Grandma and my mom just making it. No need for a recipe card. So again – I’ll just type it out here.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Rhubarb Sauce

2 cups rhubarb, cut into 1/2 inch pieces

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup sugar (or to taste)

Cook in saucepan for about 10 minutes, until rhubarb is soft and “saucy”.

I have seen some recipes where they put in spices like nutmeg and cinnamon, but I really just like the pure taste of the rhubarb. You can also add more water if you don’t like it this thick. This can also be doubled.

001

There it is, just 3 simple ingredients.

012

This batch got a little thicker than I remember. Like my son said, “it really doesn’t look like it would be that delicious!”

017

Put your base (vanilla pudding in this case) in a fancy bowl and top with the sauce.

015

Easiest dessert ever. I really can’t believe how simple this is.

029

This dessert is pretty inexpensive if you have the rhubarb – under $2.00 for 6 servings (I used a large box of vanilla pudding).

018

Very pretty. Very easy. Very cheap. Very good.

 

 

 

 

One response to “Rhubarb Sauce

  1. […] Delight, Rhubarb Crunch, Rhubarb Crunch #2, Orange Rhubarb Pie, Rhubarb Jam, Rhubarb Torte, and Rhubarb Sauce. When I planted my first rhubarb plant many years ago, I did buy it because neither grandma or my […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

