Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

BBQ Sauce

on June 5, 2015

I’m not sure where today’s recipe originally came from, but I know that I’ve been making this sauce since I was in junior high. It might be another recipe that my mom got from one of her co-workers. This is one recipe from the 1970’s that ISN’T in the Retro Oddities category – it’s liquid ambrosia. Mom made this BBQ Sauce when I was growing up and it’s now a family favorite. I’ve used this on everything from grilled chicken to beef and pork. You can put it on any kind of meat, but I use it mostly on chopped pork done in the crock pot. It’s a great and easy way to have something ready to go anywhere – all you have to do is reheat. I’ve had it ready for days when we were moving (the move to our first home was our 10th move!), it’s been used for sports team dinners, college weekends, picnics, weekends with family, and many other occasions and celebrations. I’ll just type out the recipe here.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

BBQ Sauce

1 bottle of ketchup (I know there used to be small glass bottles of ketchup, but since I now have to buy the biggest bottle I can find, I would say 2-3 cups)

1/3 cup vinegar

2/3 cup brown sugar

1 ounce liquid smoke

1 Tablespoon mustard

2 teaspoons chili powder

1 teaspoon soy sauce

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (or more to taste – leave it out if you don’t like spicy)

Mix all together.

Simmer 5 minutes.

If using on meat on the grill, only put on meat for the last half hour of grilling.

When I use this with the chopped pork, I cook pork (shoulder, tenderloin, whatever is on sale!) in the crockpot overnight on low and then remove from crockpot, chop the pork, remove bones (if any) and fat, and put it back into the crockpot with a batch (or more depending on the size of your cut of pork) of the BBQ Sauce. I do the same with a beef roast, if I want bbq beef.

002006

This really is an incredibly easy sauce.

022

I used a pork tenderloin for this batch. I chop it and/or shred it before putting back into crockpot with the sauce.

027

Putting anything in the crockpot makes it so tender and delicious.

026

Yes – this bbq pork is so great. An absolute family favorite. I highly recommend you try this recipe.

021

I sometimes make a batch of this liquid ambrosia sauce just to keep in the refrigerator. (Some family members may have even made references to drinking this right from the jar.) My family loves this on EVERYTHING!!!

 

 

 

One response to “BBQ Sauce

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

