Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Peonies

on June 23, 2015

My peony plant originally came from the house on the lake where I grew up. When we moved here to our first house, my mom still lived at the lake, and she dug up a part of her peony plant for me to plant. Both of my grandmas had peonies in their yards, and I would pick big bouquets of them to bring into their houses. I love Peonies. It’s another spring/early summer time plant that just doesn’t last long enough. The fragrance is so great and just fills the house. When they’re blooming and we’re sitting out on our deck, we can smell them from around the house!

016

Peonies are even beautiful as buds. They almost look like roses.

010

This has to be an old-fashioned peony. It’s been around a long time. We moved to the lake in 1969, and maybe mom got the plant then. It might have even been there when we moved to that house, we just don’t know.

027

I love the big leafy petals, full of ants scurrying around the stickiness on the buds, doing their best to get those blooms open.

030

These photos were taken a few days later when they were in full bloom.

043

They’re so delicate, and this particular variety really doesn’t last very long. I’m lucky if I get to enjoy them for a week. If we get rain, they don’t even last that long.

033

There are so many different varieties of peonies. It’s fun to exchange them with friends. The more, the merrier! My goal is to have an entire hedge of peony somewhere across my entire yard. This has been a spring full of blossoms and the peonies are the last of the spring flowers to bloom. On to the summer flowers! I can’t wait!

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

