Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

4th of July Take Home Favors

on July 2, 2015

I saw so many cute crafts online for the 4th of July, that I just had to get crafty and try one of my own. I love making crafts and I love making little treats for guests to take home from a party, so I’m sharing how I made these 4th of July Take Home Favors. This one is a combination take home favor, table decoration, and place card. It’s a great last-minute and fun craft to make – get your kids involved! I got everything I needed for these at the grocery store (some things I had at home) when picking up groceries for the weekend.

020

I found some free antique post card images on the internet to print, cut them out, and glued them onto red plastic cups. After I had them glued, I would have made them a bit smaller, but that’s just me! I took a small hole punch and made holes on either side of the cup, opposite each other, pulled a silver sparkly pipe cleaner (chenille stem, if you will) through each hole and twisted the ends around to make a handle. Then I used a sheet of red, white, and blue tissue paper, folded it a couple of times, and ran it through my shredder to make the filler for the bottom of the cups.

017

Depending on your guests, you can alter the treats and goodies you put in these. For our celebration, I used mints, gum, chocolates, a couple of sparklers, and a flag. You could use more kid friendly things if you’re making these for a kids table: stickers, water shooters, fun sunglasses.

034

I have the table set for a casual holiday lunch, but you can get as creative as you want with your table settings.

043

Gather up your kids or your weekend company and do a holiday craft to make your holiday celebration even more festive and memorable! Have fun!!!

 


One response to “4th of July Take Home Favors

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The New Vintage Kitchen

A Vermont innkeeper's collection of seasonal vintage recipes, reimagined for today's cooks.

Convivial Supper

Recipes from the Past

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

EASYBAKED

a collection of recipes