Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Rhubarb Crunch

on July 7, 2015

I know, I know. I thought I was done with the rhubarb. But I went out to my rhubarb plants, scrounged around, and came up with just enough to make this Rhubarb Crunch recipe. Actually, I still didn’t have enough rhubarb – I was about 1/4 cup short. I decided to go for it anyway and try this. Wow – am I glad I did! This recipe is great, and it’s officially one of my new favorites. I have found that sometimes Grandma put two or three recipes onto one card, and I almost missed this one – it’s at the bottom of a card that has another recipe on the top of the card. Reading through it, it was a bit confusing, so I did look online to see if there were other recipes kind of like this. I did find one for Rhubarb Crisp that was similar, so I was glad when I found it, read it, and was able to figure out exactly how to put this one together.

Rhubarb Crunch

I’ll be making this one year after year!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Rhubarb Crunch

Mix together in a bowl:

3 cups rhubarb, chopped

1 cup sugar

3 Tablespoons flour

Spread out in bottom of greased 9″ x 13″ pan.

Mix for topping:

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup oatmeal

1 1/2 cup flour

1 cup butter (she has 1/2 cup of 2 different things, but I just used butter)

Mix with hands until crumbly.

Put on top of rhubarb in pan.

Bake at 375 degrees for 40 minutes.

009023

I decided to try smaller containers instead of one big pan. That way I would be able to share with people other than family members! It seemed to make a lot of topping when not using a big pan, but it was just enough for the 5 smaller containers I made.

029

I gave these smaller containers 30 minutes and they came out of the oven golden and bubbly.

031

I think it’s almost a requirement that you eat this warm. That way if you want to top it with a small scoop of Home Made Ice Cream, it will get melty and be extra delicious. You could also top it with whipped cream, which would also get melty and be extra delicious.

044

It was a good thing that I made these in individual containers. That stopped me from eating half the pan. Oh my – this is good.

045

You can see the oats and bits of rhubarb, so you know it’s gonna be good. This recipe is VERY highly recommended by me. Try it. But remember – you’ve been warned! Oh yeah – and that thing about making these in smaller containers to share with people other than family – not gonna happen. These babies didn’t last the night. The family saw to that.

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “Rhubarb Crunch

  1. Mom says:

    YES – delicious!

  2. […] for this year. This recipe is for Rhubarb Crunch, but since I have already made a one called Rhubarb Crunch, this one will be called Rhubarb Crunch #2. I’m amazed when I think about how many rhubarb […]

  3. […] Rhubarb Cream Delight was on the top and on the bottom was a recipe that I shared last year called Rhubarb Crunch. The recipe for today calls for 4 cups of rhubarb (which is a lot when your plants aren’t so […]

  4. […] treats like Rhubarb Cinnamon Coffee Cake, Rhubarb Bread, Rhubarb Muffins, Rhubarb Cream Delight, Rhubarb Crunch, Rhubarb Crunch #2, Orange Rhubarb Pie, Rhubarb Jam, Rhubarb Torte, and Rhubarb Sauce. When I […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

