Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

6 Hour Buns

on July 10, 2015

I have shared my mom’s famous recipe for Buns on the blog, but today I’m sharing another recipe that Grandma had in her file for 6 Hour Buns. These have mashed potatoes in them! Retro Oddity? Not really. Mashed potatoes make bread very moist and tender. This looks like another old recipe. You’ll notice that there is no quantity for the amount of flour to use, and no time or temp to use to bake them!! Ugh!! Grandma – come on!!! Yeah, yeah, we’re just supposed to know this stuff!

6 Hour Buns

These buns are really good!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

6 Hour Buns

Mix together:

3 cups scalded milk

1 cup mashed potatoes

Cool.

Add:

1 cake compressed yeast (I used one regular package of yeast)

1 cup sugar

Let rise 2 hours.

Add:

1/2 cup melted lard (yes – I used lard that was left from pie crust!)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 egg

5-6 cups flour (I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and the rest regular all-purpose flour)

A little water may also be used (I didn’t need to add any water).

Let rise 2 hours.

Form into buns.

Let rise 2 hours.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes for larger sandwich or burger buns, 15-20 for smaller ones. This made 16 larger burger-sized buns.

003

Make sure you mash the potatoes well. I ended up with some lumps of potato showing.

006011

It doesn’t seem like anything will happen, but that first 2 hour rise really does make a difference.

018

It’s hard to know how much flour to add, but 5-6 cups is what I came up with.

024026

The second rise really makes the dough expand. The dough was sticky so make sure you use extra flour when forming the buns. I put the ball of dough in my left palm and use my right thumb and forefinger to bring the dough up from the outside to the middle of the dough ball until the ball is smooth on the palm side. Or just roll the ball in your palm until it’s smooth.

038040

After the second rise, it’s finally time to bake them!! I made these big enough for burgers or sandwiches, with an egg wash and a sprinkle of sesame seeds. I tried poppy seeds on a few, but I liked the sesame seeds better.

051

They’re beautiful!!! I LOVE the poppy seeds!!

065

When the buns are cut open, you can see how great the texture is.

066

This particular bun was slated for a turkey sandwich. These compare pretty well with the buns my mom is famous for making. They’re delicious. I think a burger would work very well on these buns. You should try to make your own buns. You’ll be hooked!!!

 

 

 

 

One response to “6 Hour Buns

  1. […] I’d stick with regular dinner rolls next time – or maybe try a batch of Buns or 6 Hour Buns and just make the buns […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

