Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Freezing Berries

on July 17, 2015

I have a thing for berries. Fresh berries. Fresh LOCAL berries. I love to eat them, I love to smell them, I love to look at them, I love to freeze them and save them to use in the middle of winter when we need a little shot of summer sunshine. I do this every year, and it’s great because you can buy local, you know what you’re getting with your berries (i.e. no sugar), and it saves money. Sometimes buying local berries isn’t cheaper, but I don’t really care. It’s so worth it to get berries that actually taste like the berry they’re purporting to be. Now is the time to buy your local berries and freeze them for use next winter.

Grandma and Grandpa had a black raspberry bush that grew by their machine shed on the farm, and gave beautiful tiny deep purple, sweet, juicy berries every summer. I would help pick them, trying to avoid getting the scratches that would inevitably wrap around my wrists because I couldn’t go slow and be careful – I had to hurry so I could get them in my mouth!!! Even with the scratches, it was so fun to pick those berries and then get to EAT them! Those berries were so good on ice cream.

My daughter and I were on the deck at my mom’s place on the afternoon of the 4th of July when one of her neighbors walked by and asked, “Are you raspberry people?” We vigorously indicated that we were indeed. She said, “I have more raspberries than I can eat – feel free to go up and pick some.” We thanked her profusely, and my mom and I immediately went up and picked! Excuse the not so-great-cell phone photos here, but I didn’t have my good camera with me and I HAD to take pictures of this neighbor’s BEAUTIFUL berries!!!

IMG_3123

They look like little jewels hanging from the lush, green bushes – and these bushes were LOADED!

IMG_3124

We so enjoyed having the berries on ice cream that night, that I totally forgot to take photos of them ON the ice cream! We also enjoyed them on our cereal the next morning, and my daughter picked a few more to take home with her before we left.

IMG_3125

We didn’t take any raspberries to freeze, and left the rest of the berries for my mom to enjoy. They were stunningly gorgeous berries. So beautiful.

007

The next week, I was able to find a farm nearby (actually about 45 minutes away) where you can pick your own strawberries. Unfortunately, they weren’t allowing you to pick-your-own anymore, but they would pick them for you!! I immediately ordered a 6 quart flat and my husband and I picked them up the next day, took them home, and prepared them for freezing.

010

The farm is called Lorences Berry Farm and I would HIGHLY recommend them! They have asparagus in the spring, strawberries in July, and raspberries in August and September. I can’t wait to go back in August and try their raspberries, too (plus get enough to put in the freezer).

053

I mean, come on!!! These berries are so beautiful, so sweet, so red, so tasty, so strawberry-y!!!!! I take off the green tops, wash them, and lay them out in a single layer on a baking sheet. Into the freezer they go! I usually let them freeze overnight so they’re good and solid.

064

Once they’re frozen solid, just take them off of the baking sheet and put them into freezer bags in whatever quantity you want or need. I don’t use them for anything special so I just fill the bags nearly full and measure them out later. Freezing them in a single layer allows you to pack them up and keep them in the freezer without them turning into a frozen brick of berries. You can then just take out as many as you need to use at any one time. They don’t come out as firm as they were when they went in, but they can be used for smoothies, pie, jams, pancake topping, the list goes on and on!

066

I store them in zip top freezer bags, but you could also use freezer containers (BPA free, of course). In June I try to get some blueberries in the freezer, too, when they’re in season and less expensive. Any kind of berry can be frozen using this technique. I don’t know if Grandma ever got to freeze any of those black raspberries to have the next winter. They were probably all eaten in the summer. You HAVE to go out and get some local berries. You seriously won’t believe how good they are (and good for you)!

 

4 responses to “Freezing Berries

  1. […] those beautiful local strawberries I told you about in my post Freezing Berries? I used some of them to make this recipe. Uncooked Jam always seems easier than cooked jam. I […]

  2. […] using some of the local strawberries that we bought and put in the freezer for use this winter, and today’s the day. I’m […]

  3. […] used the pretty little local strawberries for this ice […]

  4. […] used the frozen strawberries that I had in the freezer from a local […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

