Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Uncooked Jam

on July 24, 2015

Remember those beautiful local strawberries I told you about in my post Freezing Berries? I used some of them to make this recipe. Uncooked Jam always seems easier than cooked jam. I needed to find a way to use up the rest of those little summer jewels. I haven’t tried yet, but it would be fun to try all kinds of berries for this jam. Grandma and her sisters had a lot of recipes for canning all kinds of end of the summer harvest, and that would have really heated up the kitchen. I’m sure this one was a way to make jam without turning up the heat. As long as they had room in their “icebox”, this recipe would have worked well for preserving all kids of beautiful summer berries.

Uncooked Jam

You can never have too many kinds of jam to get you through the long, dark Minnesota winter!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Uncooked Jam

Combine:

1 1/4 cups berries, sliced or crushed (I used double this amount of berries AND crushing them worked best)

2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

1 1/2 cups sugar

Let stand 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally to help dissolve the sugar.

Combine:

1/2 package powdered pectin

7 Tablespoons water

Cook, bringing to a full boil.

Boil for 1 minute, stirring constantly.

(I skipped this part by using a package of liquid pectin, however, it didn’t firm up. It stayed fairly runny, so we’ll be using the “jam” as a syrup for pancakes or over ice cream.)

Slowly stir hot pectin into mixture of berries.

Stir for several minutes.

Pour into sterilized jelly glasses or jars.

Cover with lids.

Store in refrigerator.

002

Oh my gosh – how beautiful! I hated to cut them up!

006

It is a lot of sugar, but it IS jam.

008

When all the ingredients are combined, it made a lot of liquid even when I doubled the amount of berries(but it may be more runny because I used the liquid pectin).

012

I got about 3 1/2 pints out of this recipe.

026

So pretty.

027

This is the tastiest jam ever. It has to be because of the local berries. Even though this particular batch got a bit runnier than I wanted, we’ll still make great use of it for syrup and ice cream topping. Give this a try – it’s a great way to keep those beautiful summer berries just a little bit longer!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

