Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Lettuce, Peas, and Cheese Salad

on July 28, 2015

This recipe for Lettuce, Peas, and Cheese Salad comes from my other grandma. We had this a lot when we went to Grandma and Gramp’s house for dinner. I’m sure because not only is it tasty, it’s a pretty economical salad, and she would try to keep the costs to a minimum. I think this is another recipe that comes from the time of the Great Depression. Most of the time when we’d go for dinner, it was also along with my aunt and uncle and 4 cousins who also lived in the area, so there were probably 10-12 people there. They had a tiny little dining room, and she always used her best china and glassware. We’d sit around the table, eating and telling stories of when Grandma and Gramp lived on the many farms they rented (they never owned their own), of when my dad and his brother and sister were young, of friends and family they grew up with, of the crazy-sounding experiences they had. This photo of my dad as a kid reminds me of those stories we heard. I love that this shows his gun and his dog.

49

I’m sure some of those stories were about him and his hunting and outdoors escapades. That look on his face tells me there were a lot of stories about him raising heck. There was a lot of laughter and a lot of love in those dinner conversations. Of course there isn’t, again, an actual recipe card for this salad, so I’ll just type it out here.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Lettuce, Peas, and Cheese Salad

1/2 head of iceberg lettuce

1 cup mayonnaise

1 cup cheese, diced (I used Velveeta like Grandma did, but you could use cheddar)

1 cup frozen peas

1 teaspoon pepper (I didn’t add any salt since Velveeta is pretty salty)

Mix thoroughly.

I have seen other things put into this salad like chopped bacon, chopped celery, or chopped green onion. You can certainly add more veggies if you want to.

001

I know, iceberg lettuce isn’t my usual cup of tea, but that’s what Grandma used!

005

There isn’t really a “dressing”, so it takes a bit of stirring to mix in the plain mayonnaise.

011

It doesn’t look like much, but it is tasty!

021

This is so easy and goes with any main dish.

026

If there is a summer comfort food, this is it. It reminds me of those dinners at Grandma and Gramp’s little yellow house on the north side of town, and the memories of those great stories.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

