Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Cucumbers in Vinegar

on August 14, 2015

Today I’m wishing a Happy Birthday to my other grandma. This is such a great photo of her with her little sister. It says “Shoe Off” on the bottom of it, and you can see that the little sister has lost a shoe in the mud and Grandma is laughing about it!! They have on their “Sunday best”, and it looks like it may be springtime or an Easter Sunday photo, as you can see by the beautiful big hair bows and fancy dresses. I’m glad someone took this photo, while being not too happy, I’m sure, about their being in the mud in those clothes! So cute!

58 Shoes off

Whoever took this also made sure to get the car in the photo!!! Ha!

I don’t think there’s an official name for today’s recipe. There really isn’t even an official recipe for this. These Cucumbers in Vinegar (as I’m calling them) come from this grandma. I always felt that these cucumbers were kind of an old-fashioned dish. This is the smell of summer in my other grandma and gramp’s house. They always had a great garden and they grew a lot of cucumbers and onions. When I was there for dinner or just staying over in the summer, I was in charge of making these. Since there’s no recipe card, I’ll just type it out here.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Cucumbers in Vinegar

Thinly slice a cucumber or two (I found a gigantic one hiding behind my vine and used that).

Sprinkle 2 -3 Tablespoons salt over top and mix thoroughly.

Let sit for 30 minutes.

Drain water (rinse salt off if desired – I leave it on).

Add 1/2 of an onion, thinly sliced.

Cover with apple cider vinegar.

Add 1/2 teaspoon pepper.

Let sit for at least 30 minutes.

Enjoy the fruits (or veggies) of your summer labor in the garden!

030

I might use the mandolin for slicing the cucumber really thin, but this one was so big, I used a knife.

033

I try to also slice the onion as thinly as possible.

040

Mix in the onion and pepper after draining the water off.

052

I used about 3/4 cup of vinegar for this batch because it was such a big cucumber, but I don’t think you typically need to use that much.

051

These vinegar-y cucumbers are almost like a very quick pickle. They actually get better after a couple of days – if they last that long. The smell of the vinegar and onion and cucumber brings be back to the summer evenings of my childhood and helping grandma make these for dinner. Another old-fashioned comfort food!

 

 

2 responses to “Cucumbers in Vinegar

  1. Mom says:

    Love that picture……………

  2. Susan J :o) says:

    I remember my Mom making these, too. Delicious !

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

