Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Peach Pie with Never Fail Pie Crust

on August 28, 2015

It’s that time of the summer when peaches are plentiful and oh so delicious! The grandmas and grandpas would tell of why they loved peach season as children (we all know about their keeping the nice, soft papers that wrapped the peaches hung on a nail on the wall in that little house in the backyard)! My mom would buy a “crate” of peaches every August and me and my sister would eat peaches until we just couldn’t eat any more!! We would eat them, but we would also make as many luscious desserts as we could before we ran out of them. This Peach Pie with Never Fail Pie Crust is another great recipe for one of my favorite fruits. This particular recipe calls for a double crust, so obviously it’s asking for a regular pie crust and not a graham cracker crust. So with today’s recipe, you get a bonus one for pie crust.

Peach Pie

Never Fail Pie Crust

Never Fail Pie Crust 2

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Peach Pie

Sift together:

1 cup sugar

2 Tablespoons flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

Mix together with:

8 peaches, sliced

Put into bottom crust and top with a top crust.

Bake at 450 degrees for 15 minutes.

Turn oven down to 350 degrees for 35 minutes.

Never Fail Pie Crust

1 cup rounded flour

8 Tablespoons butter (she has either margarine or shortening, but I used all butter)

1/4 cup cold milk

1/4 teaspoons salt

Blend flour, salt, and butter.

Stir in milk.

The correct procedure here is to chill the dough, then roll it out, then chill it again, blah, blah, blah. You can chill it if you want to, but I didn’t chill it at all (the recipe card didn’t say to do that). This really is “never fail”.

005

Wow – I love peaches.

014

I sliced the peaches first before doing the crust or mixing it together.

020

This is a very simple recipe for pie crust. It’s best to have it ready to go before getting the peaches ready.

024028

These peaches were VERY juicy and it made for a VERY JUICY pie. I might add an extra tablespoon of flour or even a tablespoon of cornstarch next time if I know the peaches are as juicy as these were.

032

I used my favorite plastic wrap technique for rolling out the crust, which really worked well on this crust that is a bit softer than usual (I didn’t chill the dough this time)!

036

One pie – ready for the oven! I cut some slits into the crust to let the steam out and sprinkled the top with a bit of sugar.

040

Looks good right out of the oven!

047

Beautiful, but juicy! I wonder if this would have firmed up a bit by putting it in the refrigerator? Next time I’ll try that.

054

You just shouldn’t eat pie without ice cream! I have posted a great recipe for Homemade Ice Cream in an earlier post. Make some ice cream and make some pie, and make it with those beautiful, plentiful, delicious peaches!

 

5 responses to “Peach Pie with Never Fail Pie Crust

  1. Kris Grasmick says:

    This looks scrumptious!

  2. […] can find a recipe for crust here. To have it ready to go, I either make the dough and freeze it raw to bake later, or bake it with […]

  3. […] and aside from making a pie or two, we ate ALL the peaches. I have posted a couple of recipes for Peach Pie with Never Fail Crust and Glazed Peach Pie, but I decided that there must be a way to make a Peach Crisp, and I decided to […]

  4. […] Have a pie crust made and ready to go. I used Grandma’s recipe for Never Fail Pie Crust. […]

  5. […] The ingredients are so simple, but so very delicious. For the pie crust, I used Grandma’s recipe for Never Fail Pie Crust. […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

