Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Fresh Apple Cake

on September 11, 2015

It’s the time of year for apples!!! I have heard that the orchards here in Minnesota have had a great year and the apples are beautiful and plentiful. Yay! I love apples! I remember when we first moved to the lake in 1969, I would come home from school every day and the first thing I would do is have a snack. This is shocking, I know, but even more shocking is that the snack of choice was first and foremost an apple. I have to say that I really don’t remember what kind of apples they were, but I do remember that they were very soft (something I can’t stand now) and they had the strange faint taste of lilac. How weird. And how weird that I would remember that! Ha! This recipe for Fresh Apple Cake is one that Grandma got from one of her sisters, and is another of my new favorites. Like my son said when he had a piece of this cake, it’s so perfect for “now”, meaning this time of year. Apple time.

Fresh Apple Cake

This is another easy and incredibly tasty recipe!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Fresh Apple Cake

Break 2 eggs over top of:

4 cups of apples, diced

Stir in:

2 cups sugar (she has that maybe 1 3/4 cups is enough – I used 1 1/2)

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 cup salad oil (I used canola)

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

nuts, optional

Mix together for topping:

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup nuts, chopped, more if not using in batter (I didn’t put any in the batter so I used 1 cup chopped walnuts)

Put in greased and floured 9″ x 13″ pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

026

Apples are just so good and so pretty!

029

It is a bit unusual to put the eggs over the apples and not mix them in to the batter.

031

The batter is pretty thick.

033

Love the topping – it’s so crunchy and good!

052

This is another great snack cake. I’d have this for a snack instead of just a plain apple!

057

You can see the chunks of apple and nuts and the pieces of crunchy brown sugar. Peeling the apples takes 3 times as long as mixing the whole thing together, it’s so easy to mix up. Try this great snack cake – it’s great for apple time!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

