Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Danish Apple Bars

on October 9, 2015

I’ve always wanted my own orchard. I love apples and I love apple trees. I would love to walk through the apple trees and just inhale the scent of blossoms, leaves, and apples. A few years ago, my family gave me an apple tree for mother’s day, but we had so many trees growing in our yard that I didn’t think we had room for it. These are the trees that have grown so big that my garden won’t grow. Ugh – it’s been so frustrating! Well – good news!! We’ve cut down 4 of the trees in our backyard this fall and now we have room (and hopefully the garden will be more productive)! The plan is to plant 2 apple trees next spring. We have all winter to dream about what kind to get and I can’t wait!! Maybe some year we’ll have enough apples to use our own for all of these fall apple recipes! Ahhh. A girl can dream . . .

The recipe for today is one of my new favorites. These Danish Apple Bars are a lot like the Apple Pie Bars I posted last fall, but the crust is just a bit different. Funny – when I posted that recipe, THAT was one of my new favorites!

Danish Apple Bars

Danish Apple Bars 2

These bars are so good!!!!!!!!!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Danish Apple Bars

Mix together:

2 1/2 cups flour

1 Tablespoon sugar

1 teaspoon salt

Cut in:

1 cup lard or Crisco (I used butter)

Add:

1 egg yolk and enough milk to make 2/3 cup

Divide into 2 parts.

Put 1 part onto 9″ x 13″ pan or baking sheet.

On top of that put 3/4 cup corn flakes or bran flakes (I used corn flakes and crushed them a bit).

Put on sliced apples (I used 7 Macintosh apples).

Mix together and put on top of apples:

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Beat egg white and spread on top.

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

While HOT drizzle on:

1 cup powdered sugar

some milk (I used 4 tablespoons or so)

005008

I have a lot of photos of these bars, but there are a lot of steps. I used a small offset spatula to spread half of the dough onto the 9″ x 13″ pan – it makes a pretty thin layer – and then sprinkle the crushed corn flakes over top.

011014

It says to put sliced apples on top, but not how many or how high to pile them, so I used my apple peeler and cut the slices in half, layering them in rows. This also seems like a lot of sugar and cinnamon, but I’m thinking it’s needed as in an apple pie.

021023

Here’s the tricky part. The top layer of dough. It doesn’t really say how to spread it because it’s pretty thick and sticky, so I broke off pieces and spread it as evenly as possible. Then to spread the beaten egg white over the top of all? I tried. The recipe is kind of vague here, so I used a spatula and tried to get it even. Next time I’m going to try putting all of the dough on the bottom, then the sliced apples, the sugar and cinnamon, and just glaze over top. I think a thicker crust would be ok.

030

After baking and while they’re still HOT, drizzle on the powdered sugar glaze.

049

The best part of these bars are the edge pieces that got caramelized and crispy!

040

These bars did soften after a day, so depending on how you like them, either eat them the day you make them and have them a bit crisper, or let them sit a day (if you can stand it that long) and let them soften. Either way, they’re the best. Apple pie in a bar, you can’t beat that!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

