Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Graham Crackers – Frosted

on October 28, 2015

Halloween is such a fun time of year. It’s always been one of my favorites. I love the smell and sound of the leaves  skipping down the street when they’re blown along with the wind – I loved to rake them into a pile as a child and then jump in them and then do it over and over and over and over again. I love the costumes – I was always a gypsy as a child because it was a ready-made costume – one of my grandma’s old dresses, a scarf around my head, and after raiding my mom’s jewelry drawer, I was all set! I love the trick or treat aspect – I loved doing it when I was little, except for the year my little sister was sick and couldn’t go and I had to give her half of mine. Now I love to give the treats in some kind of a treat bag that because that always made me feel special when I was trick-or-treating. I love the colors of Halloween and the decorations – I usually try to use natural and vintage decorations instead of going for the blood and gore. Today’s recipe is another treat that is perfect for fall – all full of caramel and festive sprinkles. I recently found this recipe for Graham Crackers – Frosted written in Grandma’s handwriting, but in an earlier post, I had done another recipe that came from one of Grandma’s sisters called Graham Cracker Cookies. They are similar, but not exactly the same. So I decided to make this one, using a bit of the Halloween Bark treatment. Just like the Halloween Bark, you can dress this up as much or as little as you’d like, in seasonal or special occasion sprinkles or candies. The possibilities are endless. It’s still hard to determine, as with the other recipe, whether this is a cookie or a candy. It really could be either one, but my vote is for a candy.

Graham Crackers - frosted

Both recipes are highly addictive. Just sayin’.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Graham Cookies – Frosted

Layer a baking sheet with graham crackers (I used about 1 1/2 packages).

Melt:

1 cup butter

1 cup brown sugar

Add:

1 cup walnuts, chopped (I’d say about 1 cup)

Pour over the top of the graham crackers, smoothing and spreading if you need to.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes or so, watching closely.

After removing from oven, I immediately put on the sprinkles and candy corn.

Break up after it’s cool.

016

I don’t know why this keeps happening, but I ran out of walnuts again, so I had to use some sunflower seeds to supplement. It wasn’t bad.

023026

When it first comes out of the oven, it’s bubbling away like molten lava. I let it sit for a couple of minutes and then started the sprinkling.

034

After it’s cooled, you can break it up into pieces or do like I did and cut it on the cracker lines. This candy/cookie is almost like a caramel. It’s coated with the caramel goodness on both sides and is literally surrounded with caramel!

032

This is so easy and so pretty! Here’s another incredibly delicious candy to try – but be warned – you’ll have to hide it if you want any left by Halloween! These caramel treats are another one that’s highly addictive!!!

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

