Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Snappy Turtle Cookies

on November 4, 2015

Today’s recipe is another of those quirky, cute, really delicious, and really easy ones that just so reminds me of Grandma. These Snappy Turtle Cookies are perfect for fall, with their pecans, caramel flavored cookie, and chocolate frosting. I had to share this photo of Grandma from around the 1930’s, about the time she was married.

90

LOVE the hat and the fur-trimmed coat! Such a fashion plate! I could totally see her making these cookies back then, and serving them to her family and friends.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

Snappy Turtle Cookies 2

You’ll notice that she says to frost the tops generously, but with what?!!! There’s no recipe or telling what kind of frosting to use! I know, I know. We’re supposed to know this stuff! Ugh!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Snappy Turtle Cookies

The card says to get 2 1/2 dozen cookies out of this recipe. As usual, I made these WAY too big and didn’t get nearly that many!

Sift together:

1 1/2 cups flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

Cream:

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar, adding gradually

Add:

1 egg and 1 egg yolk, saving extra egg white for later

Arrange on greased baking sheet:

Pecan halves in groups of 3 or 5 to resemble head and legs of turtle.

Mold:

Dough into balls.

Dip bottom into unbeaten egg white and then press lightly on top of nuts.

Use 1 rounded teaspoon of dough so tips of nuts will show when baked.

Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.

Do not over bake.

Let cool and frost tops generously.

I would just use your favorite chocolate frosting recipe or a (gulp) store-bought canned frosting.

039

I got so excited about how cute these are, I forgot to take a “before baking” photo! But seriously – so cute!! They look like real turtles!!

040

I don’t know what it is about the nuts lately (um – maybe I just need to stock up?!), but I also ran out of whole pecans for the turtle feet when doing this recipe, so I made some round cookies with just a pecan piece in the middle.

073

Then I melted some caramels (the square ones with a wrapper) with 1-2 Tablespoons of water and drizzled it on top. When done frosting the turtles, I added a bit more milk to the chocolate frosting and used a zip top bag with a corner cut off to drizzle the chocolate frosting on top of the round ones.

055

Really. These are so cute! I can’t stand it! I probably could have gotten twice as many cookies out of the recipe if I didn’t have such a heavy hand at making the dough balls.

069

These are cute, realistic looking turtles that your family will love. I’m sure little ones would love taking a bite out of the head or legs of these. They take a bit of time, but are NOT difficult to make. I’m sure Grandma had fun making these – I know I did!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

