Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Pumpkin Bars

on November 9, 2015

This recipe is absolutely phenomenal. It’s another one that I’ve had for years and years. I have no idea where it came from because I have it just written down in my recipe book, but it’s makes the BEST Pumpkin Bars I’ve ever had. I wouldn’t be surprised if it originally came from Grandma. When we’d go to Grandma and Grandpa’s house this time of year, we never had dinner without lighting a candle in the middle of the dining room table, and I was thrilled when I was the lucky one who got to light it. I always thought that it was just a thing that Grandma did, you know, one of her special entertaining traits – lighting candles. After the trip I took to Sweden and Norway with my mom, sister, and godmother two years ago, I think now that it may be a cultural thing. Everywhere we went in Sweden and Norway, there were candles everywhere, and I mean EVERYWHERE! Not just on the dining tables, but all along the way TO the dining room, in the hotel lobbies, in the lounge areas, even in the front windows of the hotels. There were even candles so close to where you walked, I wondered if anyone ever knocked them over. It seemed like a fire hazard. But I liked it. I love candles, and this time of year especially. It’s like a light in the darkness of the long winter ahead. Of course, you have to be careful with candle flames and the matches used to light them. When I was little, I had a wonderful babysitter who taught me to always hold the blown out match under running water so it wouldn’t start the garbage on fire! I also love some of the new battery operated flameless candles they’ve come out with now – they’re so realistic. There’s a lot less worrying about the fire hazard thing. Regardless, I love candles and their warm glow against the long and seemingly never-ending winter darkness to come.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Pumpkin Bars

Mix and set aside:

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

Combine:

1 cup oil (I used canola)

4 eggs

1 can pumpkin

2 cups sugar

Add flour mixture, mix well.

Bake on a jelly roll pan (15″ x 10″) at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

Frosting:

8 ounces cream cheese

3/4 cup butter, softened

1 teaspoon milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

Add 1/2 to 1 cup powdered sugar (I used 1 cup) and beat until of spreading consistency.

004

I don’t use my  beat up old baking sheets for bars very often. The batter just fits!

010

It rose just enough without overflowing!

018

Is there anything better than cream cheese frosting? I think not.

020

My family thinks these are more like a cake than bars. They think bars are meant to be picked up and held when eaten. I didn’t have a problem eating these with my hand, but they thought it was easier to eat with a fork.

031

You have to try this recipe!!! I can’t stress that enough! It’s so good, so easy, so appropriate for this month! Add it to your Thanksgiving dessert table! It’s a keeper!

 

 

2 responses to “Pumpkin Bars

  1. Lyle Norris says:

    This is Aunt Goldie’s recipe. Make it all the time. Grandkids love them

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

