Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Fruitcake

on November 13, 2015

The recipe for today is one that has gotten such a bad rap. I don’t know if it’s the candied fruit that always turns people off on fruitcake, but this recipe uses something much tastier. Orange candy slices. Yes, you read that right. Grandma’s Fruitcake recipe is just a little bit different. This one doesn’t have the candied fruit, spices, and rum that normal fruitcake has. The fruitcake filled with all of that good stuff are delicious, too, and you’re supposed to make it in October and let them sit and let the flavors blend until Christmas. I made this one in November, even though it doesn’t have to sit, and I put it in the freezer. I’m sharing it now because of that unusual ingredient, the orange slices. They’re ORANGE! Not red and green like the normal fruitcake. So I’m thinking, if you wanted to, you could make it now and serve this for one of your Thanksgiving desserts.

fruitcake

fruitcake 2

Throw a curve ball and see if anyone even realizes that it’s fruitcake! It’s that good!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Fruitcake

1 cup margarine (I used butter)

2 cups sugar

4 eggs

1/2 cup buttermilk, plus 1 teaspoon baking soda

3 1/2 cups cake flour (I used regular – I don’t usually have cake flour on hand)

1 package dates, chopped

1 cup flaked coconut

2 cups walnuts, chopped

1 pound orange slice candy, cut in small pieces (they don’t have them in 1 lb. bags so I had to get 2 bags and measure out 1 lb. on my scale – you could also probably buy them in bulk at your grocery store)

Bake in tube pan at 250 degrees for 2 hours.

Grandma said she had never used a tube pan, but used 2 loaf pans plus a dozen cupcakes and baked them for 1 hour and 40 minutes. She also said she tried the icing once and it didn’t work so great so she didn’t use it again. The recipe is there if you want to try it, but I did not. I baked this in two larger loaf pans and 3 smaller loaf pans for about 2 hours.

006

The cut up orange slices sure do look like the other kind of candied fruit!

012

The batter is very thick. It didn’t look like all of the “goodies” would go in there, but they did!

015

It is chock full of goodness!

016034

Before and after baking – beautiful!

042

She says to grease the pans very well and she wasn’t kidding! I did grease them what I thought was very well, and the big pans really stuck on the bottom – so make sure you REALLY grease the pans well. I didn’t get a photo of them, but I tried to put them back together and the candy and the batter was so sticky, it kind of stuck. We’ll see how it goes when I take them out of the freezer.

045

This is a big batch – enough for sharing!

055

Here is one of the little beauties all sliced up! See how pretty! The colors of fall – give it a try – right now!

 

 

One response to “Fruitcake

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

