Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Cranberry Salad

on November 25, 2015

After reading this recipe, I was thinking that this is such a simple holiday recipe, but it really doesn’t have to be a holiday recipe. It would be a great salad to have any time. It’s just so easy. There’s really not much to it. This Cranberry Salad is easy, delicious, and great for dinner. I could see Grandma making this for those family Sunday night suppers that her family was so famous for. My mom still misses having Sunday suppers with her family, and cousins, and the aunts and uncles! I am old enough to have been in on some of those suppers, too, and man, I can still remember the smells that would come from those kitchens back then. There was a lot of love and warmth in those kitchens, too. What a great way for a family to stay in touch and stay together. We try to do a family dinner with our kids at least once every week or two, and it’s not easy, but it’s important and it’s something we try to make happen. We’re going to enjoy it while we can, because as we all know, life has a way of taking us all in different directions.

Cranberry Salad 2

There could hardly be an easier recipe for a salad.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Cranberry Salad

Make 3 small boxes of Jell-O according to directions, using only 4 cups of water (I used 2 cups boiling water and 2 cups cold water).

Mix in:

1 can whole cranberries (not jellied cranberries)

1 can crushed pineapple (not drained)

1/2 cup nuts (I didn’t use nuts in this one but I would use walnuts)

005

We had Jell-O molds like these when I was a little girl, so I decided to try to use them with this salad and see what happens. After mixing up the salad, I poured some of the liquid into the molds and into the frig with them all.

010

I dipped the mold into hot water and maybe had it in there a bit long. They melted just a bit and I had to wipe up the plate, otherwise they came out ok. They’re pretty for an individual serving, and as I told my son, Grandma would have topped this with a dollop of mayonnaise or Miracle Whip. All he could say was, “why?” I don’t know why she like those kind of things, but there were a lot more of those kind of salads back then. Remember, this salad was supposed to also have nuts in it. Must be one of those retro things.

057

This salad is perfect for this time of year.

060

Gather your family for a big family dinner and serve this salad. It doesn’t have to be a holiday, but this one would be great for a holiday dinner, too. Cranberries can be great for Thanksgiving OR Christmas. This salad would be great with dinner for either of those holidays. You could even still pull this together for tomorrow. It’s just so easy. And so delicious!

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Cranberry Salad

  1. Rebecca says:

    The simplest recipes are usually the best ones 🙂 Definitely something my family would enjoy! I like the little individual molds and never thought about using them like that. Thanks for sharing! Happy Thanksgiving. ~Blessings~

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

