Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Nut Brittle

on December 11, 2015

Today’s recipe comes from my other Grandma! I can’t remember a Christmas growing up when she DIDN’T make this Nut Brittle. My Gramp liked candy and Grandma made him several kinds to choose from every year. She made Nut Brittle, Hard Candy, Chocolate Bon-Bons, and Fudge. Gramp would also bring home candy from work at Christmas time that you wouldn’t see at any other time of the year. That’s the beauty of growing up in a smaller town – there were people who actually made candy at Christmas time and would go around town and sell it. I remember two kinds of candy specifically – one that was white hard candy rectangle that had a black walnut filling in it, and one that was almost like sponge candy, only different. I don’t exactly know how to explain that one, but it was delicious. We spent most Christmas Eve’s with my dad’s side of the family because we had cousins to be together with on his side. We don’t have a lot of photos of Grandma and Gramp at Christmas time, probably because she was in the kitchen most of the time – she loved to cook, too. Here is one photo we do have from the early 1970’s and it’s me, my sister, and Grandma. There are those matching plaid jumpers again – and my sister must have opened a present and is really loving that puppy! Ha!

96

Grandma must have just had her hair done (by one of her neighbors who had a salon in her basement) for the holiday – it’s looking good! I love and miss that smile of hers!

Nut Brittle

Nut Brittle 2

This is really a pretty easy and delicious brittle.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Nut Brittle

In a 3 quart heavy saucepan, stir together:

2 cups sugar

1 cup white corn syrup

1/2 cup water

Boil rapidly until it reaches 275 degrees.

Add:

1 1/2 cups raw peanuts or other coarsely chopped nuts

Continue boiling, stirring often, until it reaches 295 degrees.

Remove from heat.

Mix together and quickly stir in:

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Then stir in:

1/4 cup margarine (I used butter)

Immediately pour hot mixture onto greased baking sheet.

When cool, break into pieces.

008

I have also used cocktail peanuts instead of raw peanuts when making this and it seems to come out just fine.

010

Adding the baking soda, salt, and butter turns the hot syrup into molten lava!!!

012

I don’t spread it once it’s on the baking sheet – I like it thicker.

043

This makes a big batch – a whole baking sheet full.

051

My family can never get enough peanut brittle at Christmas time. I always end up making a second batch. This recipe is really a good one. Make some for your family this year!

 

One response to “Nut Brittle

  1. Karen Dresser says:

    Those were THE days, fun to remember!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

