Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Christmas Layer Salad

on December 23, 2015

I’m sharing one of my favorite Christmas photos today. This is me when I was 3 and Santa with the mask – that’s my Grandpa. I’m shocked that I actually took the present from him because I was always so scared of Santa. Maybe it had something to do with the creepy mask! I’m sure he wore it because if he didn’t have a mask, I’d know him, but wow.

14

This was taken at my other Grandma and Gramp’s house and those are my cousins with me. Christmas there was always a lot of fun and total chaos!

The recipe for today comes from my other Grandma. She loved to cook and loved to have all of us at their house for the holidays. I remember her making this Christmas Layer Salad once in a while, and I remember that it was very good and very festive. It looks more complicated than it really is, but it does take some time. Each layer is firmed up before adding the next.

CHristmas Layer Salad

CHristmas Layer Salad 2

This really is easier than it seems!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Christmas Layer Salad

Use a 9″ x 13″ pan.

It’s helpful to read through entire recipe before starting.

Lime layer:

Dissolve in 1 cup hot water:

1 – 3 ounce package lime Jello

Add:

1 cup crushed pineapple and juice

Chill until firm.

Cheese layer:

Dissolve 1 1/2 teaspoons Knox Gelatin in 2 Tablespoons cold water.

Add:

8 ounce cream cheese, softened

1/4 cup milk

Spread over firm lime layer.

Cranberry layer:

Add 3/4 cup sugar to 1 cup ground cranberries.

Let sit for several hours (I did this first before anything else so it had time to sit, but you could even do it the night before).

Prepare 2 – 3 ounce packages of raspberry or strawberry Jello according to package instructions.

Add cranberries to Jello.

Cool.

Pour over cheese layer and chill until firm.

010

The first thing I did was get the cranberries ground (I used my food processor) and mixed with the sugar so it could sit for a couple of hours.

009

Here we go with layer #1 – mixing the green layer and getting it into the refrigerator to firm up.

015017

Next is layer #2 – mixing the middle white layer, spreading it over the green layer, and into the refrigerator to firm that one up.

024029

The final layer #3 – mixing the cranberries with the strawberry Jello, pouring it over the middle white layer, and into the refrigerator to firm up.

031

Here is the salad ready for the refrigerator. I was surprised at how fast the layers set up. This was overall, pretty fast to make.

042

Here is the final salad – so pretty!

036

You can see the three separate layers – so festive!

044

This salad is absolutely delicious! The Jello layers are “plenty sweet” but the middle creamy layer tones that down and makes it so good! My other Grandma loved Christmas and loved to cook. This has a lot of steps, but is really easy and quick to make. I can see why she wanted me to have this recipe. It’s just about the most festive Christmas salad I’ve ever seen!

 

 

 

 

One response to “Christmas Layer Salad

  1. mom says:

    Memories, good memories!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

