Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Creamy Cauliflower Soup

on January 11, 2016

Winter at Grandma and Grandpa’s farm for me as a child was not as fun as being there during the summer, but one thing I remember doing there was looking for the frosty swirls on their dining room windows that told us it was very cold outside. Grandma used to say, “Jack Frost has been here!” I’d sit in front of those frosty glass windows and imagine all kinds of things about those designs on the windows. I would see a blizzard of crystal snowflakes and flowers and stars, there were forests where there had to be fairies and gnomes hiding behind every icy tree, I found little towns and villages where the swirls and twirls of frost made what I was sure were miniature houses lived in by all sorts of elves and little people. It was also fun to experiment with my warm breath and fingers on those windows by blowing on the glass to make even more shapes and designs, and use my fingers to see how big a clear spot I could make (I’m sure Grandma didn’t appreciate my fingers on her windows!!) or if I might be able to make a big enough and clear enough hole in the frost to see outside the window! On sunny days those windows were shining with glitter from the sunbeams coming through the frost and glass. I loved it! Imagination is a beautiful thing. I hope that even as an adult, I never lose it! I’ll keep looking for the signs of Jack Frost!

It’s winter and it’s cold. There are times when the nights are now sometimes below zero, and all we want to do is hunker down in our cozy homes with a nice, steamy bowl of soup and stay warm and toasty. Now is the time to pull out all of our favorite soup recipes, and even try some new ones. This Creamy Cauliflower Soup is just right for a chilly winter night. I know that I sound like a broken record (for those of you who know what a record is), but this is so easy and so inexpensive and so good and so great for a quick lunch or dinner. All you need is to add a salad and some bread and you’re good to go.

Creamy Cauliflower Soup

You have to try this one!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Creamy Cauliflower Soup

1 medium head cauliflower, cut into flowerets

1/4 cup butter

1 small onion, chopped

2 Tablespoons flour

3 cups chicken broth

2 cups milk

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup cheddar cheese, grated

1 Tablespoon chopped green onion

Simmer cauliflower covered in small amount of salted water until tender, about 15 minutes.

(I used a bag of frozen cauliflower made according to the package directions.)

Drain.

Melt butter in saucepan and sauté onion until soft.

Add flour and blend.

Gradually mix in chicken broth and then milk, Worcestershire sauce, and salt.

Add cauliflower.

Bring to a boil.

Stir in cheese.

Serve hot, sprinkled with chopped green onion.

033

I had a bit of technical difficulty with my camera when taking these photos, so please forgive the kind of washed out photos.

037

I love adding the color of the chopped green onions – and a bit more shredded cheddar.

044

This is a very tasty soup!

038

After you’re done using your imagination to keep cabin fever at bay, and you’ve found the signs that Jack Frost has, indeed, been near your house, that’s when you know it’s time for a nice hot bowl of this soup. Try this recipe one of these very cold winter nights! You’ll love how easy and delicious this is!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

