Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Cranberry Pineapple Pie

on January 15, 2016

Today I’m sharing this photo of Grandma and her sisters. These sisters were very close throughout their lives and you can see how much fun they had together. I love this photo so much! This is absolutely my favorite photo of them! First of all, if you knew these sisters, you’d be shocked that they would all sit in a snow bank!! I’m wondering if it was one of their brothers who took this one, since the youngest sister looks like she’s about to throw a snowball at whoever’s taking the picture!

80

I love their coats and their hats and their boots! So cute! This must have been taken sometime in the early 1930’s.

The recipe for today is one I decided to make because I had a bag of cranberries leftover after Christmas –  it was time to try this Cranberry-Pineapple Pie. I would almost put this one under the Retro Oddity category. Maybe cranberry and pineapple isn’t so weird, but I’ve never heard of this combination before. Speaking of Grandma and her sisters, this pie is one that’s right up their alley – really easy and really good!

Cranberry Pineapple Pie

This is definitely an unusual combination!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Cranberry-Pineapple Pie

Bring to a boil:

1 pound cranberries (I used the bag I had and it was a 12 ounce bag)

6 1/2 ounce can pineapple chunks, drained (I used an 8 ounce can of pineapple tidbits)

1 cup pineapple juice (the juice from the pineapple wasn’t enough so I added some pineapple juice from a can)

2 cups sugar (not shown to be added above, but it does have to be added here)

Juice of 1 lemon

2 Tablespoons gelatin

Boil 10 minutes.

Cool.

Pour into:

1-9 inch pie shell, baked (I used a graham cracker crust)

Chill.

Top with whipped cream.

086

I used too small of a pie plate and I had enough filling left over to put in a bowl and use it for a small salad for dinner that night.

087

This pie really couldn’t have been easier to make. It went together really fast. It’s even faster if you use a (ugh!) store-bought crust, but the recipe I used to make this crust is just so good! That little bit of cinnamon in that crust recipe makes it just right.

094

This would be a very good pie to use for Thanksgiving because it’s very fresh tasting. I’m glad I have this one in my arsenal now.

102

The comments about this pie: “really good”, “delicious”, and “wow”. My husband even shared some at work and his co-workers really liked it. This recipe is one of my top 5 favorites that I’ve made on this blog, and it is . . . plenty sweet!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

