Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Grandma Scully’s Banana Bread

on January 25, 2016

This recipe comes from my mother-in-law, who got it originally from HER mother! It’s written in her old church cookbook that she allowed me to borrow. She was showing me and my husband some of the recipes in it and she happened to casually mention, “oh, this is my mother’s Banana Bread recipe”. WHAT?!!! I love that! You know how I feel about old family recipes!!! Well – I HAD to try this one! I also had to rename it, Grandma Scully’s Banana Bread. Banana Bread just didn’t seem enough in this situation. Again – how awesome is this very old and well used recipe?!!

Banana Bread (Alice's Mother)

It’s so great to have this one.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Grandma Scully’s Banana Bread

1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened (I used butter)

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup mashed bananas (about 3-4)

1/2 cup nuts (I used walnuts)

Cream butter, sugar, and eggs.

Add flour, baking soda, and salt alternating with bananas.

Add nuts.

Bake at 350 degrees for 55-60 minutes.

028

I used my bread pan that makes 4 small loaves so I could give some to my daughters. How fun to have their great grandmother’s banana bread and recipe!!

029

These four little loaves look absolutely beautiful!

062

A little loaf is just right to have with your afternoon coffee or tea.

064

This is how you eat banana bread, right? Slathered with butter? Yes – I’m pretty sure that’s the right way to do it.

066

It’s so much fun to have this recipe. I’m glad my mother-in-law happened to mention where this particular recipe came from. Family recipes are so special. They just keep that thread of love going on through the generations. I just love it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

