Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Popovers with Honey-Cinnamon Butter

on February 8, 2016

The photo I’m sharing today is of my mom and me when I was just 4 or 5 months old. I love her big earrings and plaid coat, and notice how the bonnet I have on accentuates the roundness of my head and face!! Ha! That is one chubby baby!!!

56

It looks like this may have been around Easter time – it makes me long for spring!!

We’re talking about Popovers today. This is something I remember my mom making a lot when I was little. I’m sure that as she started working and I started school and then my sister was born, she thought she didn’t have the time to make them anymore. Well, they are so quick and easy to make and SO delicious, I’m sorry she stopped making them!

img030

I love popovers so much!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Popovers

Beat together with a rotary beater just until smooth:

1 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

2 eggs

Pour into well greased muffin tins.

Bake at 425 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until golden brown.

Honey-Cinnamon Butter

1/2 stick of softened butter

1 Tablespoon honey

a couple sprinkles of cinnamon

Mix thoroughly (make more if you think  you’ll use it).

001005

I really went old school and used my actual rotary beater for this.

003007

There wasn’t a lot of information about how to make popovers on the recipe, and I thought there were some tricks to getting them to rise nicely, so I looked on the Ina Garten recipe for popovers to see if she had any helpful hints there. I wanted to keep to this recipe, but she suggested heating the muffin pan for exactly 2 minutes, not filling the cups more than half full, and not peeking. So I tried to do those 3 things but still use this recipe.

012

This is the popover that “popped” the most. They didn’t rise, they got too dark, and they were still absolutely delicious! The outside was crackly and the inside was soft and eggy. Because they were still delicious, I needed to try one more time and see if there was more I could try. I went online once more and found a recipe on the King Arthur Flour website that said it was foolproof. I still wanted to keep this original recipe, but I tried a couple of suggestions that they had, like baking them at 450 degrees for 20 minutes, and then lowering the temp to 350 for 10 minutes, warming the eggs in warm water for 10 minutes (I would assume to make them more of room temp), and filling the muffin cups 2/3 to 3/4 full.

045

Here is what the second batch turned out like – still not hugely “popped” , but more “popped” than the first batch, and still absolutely delicious!

027

This is one of the popovers from the first batch – crackly on the outside and soft on the inside.

061

This is one of the popovers from the second batch – crackly on the outside and soft on the inside, but more “popped”. They go great with any meal, but are especially wonderful warm from the oven with the Honey-Cinnamon Butter. There are going to be a lot more batches of these made around here – I’m determined to get them to “pop” even more! I’ll keep you posted!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

