Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Coconut and Date Oatmeal Cookies

on February 19, 2016

I was visiting my sister in Virginia in January, when the blizzard hit that gave us 30 inches of snow. What to do when battling a bout of “cabin fever”? Pull out all of your sisters cookbooks to read! That’s what I did and we found a tiny little cookbook that was made by some women who were originally from grandma’s church, but they had moved to town and joined churches in town. From what we gathered by reading the book, they would still get together once in a while and decided to put out this tiny little cookbook packed with great recipes! It’s still a kind of a church cookbook and this one delivers. It only has sweets in it – 37 of them! There were recipes in there from two of Grandma’s sisters. It was so much fun to find it!!

cover

It’s the cutest little cookbook – 4 1/2 inches by 4 1/2 inches – with a wallpaper cover!

inside cover

This is the first page inside the front cover. The recipe I’m sharing from it today is from another of Grandma’s sisters, and it’s in this cute little cookbook. Coconut and Date Oatmeal Cookies is a delicious cookie recipe that you’re going to want to have in your file.

Coco ut and Date Oatmeal Cookies

This one is so good!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Coconut and Date Oatmeal Cookies

Cream together:

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup shortening (I used butter)

Add:

2 eggs

Mix in:

1 cup dates, finely chopped

1/2 cup coconut

Combine and add to first mixture:

2 cups quick oatmeal

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Roll in balls and roll in sugar.

Press down with a fork.

Bake in moderate hot oven (I baked mine at 350 degrees for 15-17 minutes).

004

As usual, I used my trusty scoop to make the balls for the cookies. It says “large recipe” on the recipe, but I got 4 dozen. I probably made them much bigger than they should have been.

018

Wow – the smell of these baking is unbelievable.

030

These cookies have coconut and dates and they’re rolled in sugar – they’re “plenty sweet”- perfect with your afternoon coffee or tea.

032

These cookies are delicious, and like my daughter said, “tastes like Svea – and there are only a handful of people who know what that means”! That means they taste like Grandma, and that means they taste really good, and that means they taste like love!

 

 

 

16 responses to “Coconut and Date Oatmeal Cookies

  1. […] recipe for today is another one that was in the tiny little cookbook I found in my sisters recipe collection. I sure wish there was a date somewhere in this book, so we […]

  2. […] also from the tiny book that came from my sister’s house. There are so many good recipes in there – we’ll […]

  3. […] recipe is another one that comes from the tiny book from my sister’s house. This tiny little book is full of great little recipes just right for […]

  4. […] bars are, again, from the tiny book we found at my sister’s house last January. It’s amazing that all of the recipes […]

  5. […] recipe for today comes from the tiny book I found at my sister’s house last January. This seems like an old-fashioned recipe that is […]

  6. […] we go again – more leaves, more spices, and more deliciousness from the tiny book found at my sister’s house. There are a lot of great, delicious recipes in that little book! […]

  7. […] am trying another recipe from the tiny book I found at my sister’s house last winter. There hasn’t been a bad one in the bunch, and […]

  8. […] decided to try another recipe from the tiny book I found at my sister’s house, and I thought I’d make it more of a holiday thing. I like […]

  9. […] recipe is another one from the tiny book I found at my sister’s in January. I know I say this every time, but I can’t believe all […]

  10. […] recipe is from the tiny little cookbook I found at my sister’s house, and was contributed by grandma’s oldest sister. 8 of the […]

  11. […] – why they called them White Cookies. Maybe it’s because this recipe comes from the tiny book at my sister’s house and there were at least 4 other sugar cookie recipes in there. Maybe they […]

  12. […] recipe for Chocolate Cake (which I decided to make into cupcakes) comes from the tiny book I found at my sister’s house. It was time to make my son’s birthday cake and he decided […]

  13. […] recipe for Angel Sponge Cake comes from the tiny book I found at my sister’s house. I haven’t had any bad ones from this book, however, this […]

  14. […] try them ALL! All of them are really good and melt in your mouth. This is another recipe from the tiny book I found at my sister’s house. I’m so glad we found that book – it has been full of […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

