Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chicken (or Ham) Supreme

on February 24, 2016

This recipe can be made two ways – with chicken or with ham. I’m making Chicken Supreme today, but I’m making it with ham. This is a recipe I found at my sister’s house. She had a cookbook in which both of our grandmas, our mom, and myself had handwritten out family favorite recipes. It was another great book to find – handwritten by the grandmas and mom – so awesome to have. I immediately scanned them and emailed them to myself at home for future use (this was during the January 30 inch snowfall/blizzard we had while I was visiting my sister at her house in January). You know that in this kind of cookbook, they’re only writing out the best ones.

img027

This is another one that is very typically a “grandma recipe”.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Chicken (or Ham) Supreme

Mix all together:

2 1/2 cups diced cooked chicken or ham

2 cups cream of mushroom soup (I just used one can – I didn’t measure it out)

1 cup milk

1 cup chicken broth

1/2 pound Velveeta, grated or cubed

4 hard-boiled eggs, chopped

1 (8 oz.) can mushrooms and stems (it doesn’t say to drain the mushrooms, so put the whole thing in)

1 small onion, chopped

1 (1 lb.) package of macaroni, uncooked

1/2 stick butter (I don’t know if this was supposed to be on the buttered breadcrumbs to put on top or just added into the hotdish, so I added it to the hotdish)

Refrigerate overnight.

Cover with buttered breadcrumbs.

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

Let stand for 10 minutes before serving.

031

You know how I love a dish that can be made ahead. I love that this is another one that you can make the night before and have all ready to go the next night for dinner. This was made on a Wednesday, and due to circumstances beyond my control, it didn’t get baked until Saturday. It was just fine. Good to know that it can be made even a couple of days ahead of time.

035

I made this in individual baking dishes – better for lunches or single servings.

008

Because these didn’t get baked right away, I totally forgot to put on the buttered breadcrumbs. It was delicious without it, but I’m sure it’s good with them on, also. I might have to make this again – and this time use chicken and breadcrumbs. It might be a whole different thing!

015

This is so good, hot and bubbly, right out of the oven!

018

Hotdish is always good, but one that uses up already cooked chicken or ham – really good. One that can be made ahead of time – really, really good. This particular one – really, really, really good!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

