Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Date Crumble Bar

on March 9, 2016

I absolutely LOVE this photo of my grandma’s grandmother (my great-great-grandmother in the dark skirt on the left), all of her daughters, and there – second from the right – is my grandma’s mother (my great-grandmother). There were several brothers in between there, but this is such a great picture of the girls in the family. They look like they’re straight out of a period piece movie – that’s a LOT of lace.

71

I love their lacy dresses, their hair with the big hair bows, and their dark (probably wool) stockings. I like to think they were having a picnic on a lovely summer day.

Today’s recipe is from the tiny little cookbook I found at my sister’s house, and was contributed by grandma’s oldest sister. 8 of the 37 recipes in this tiny book call for dates. I think we can conclude that dates were pretty popular for baking at this time. The funny thing about this Date Crumble Bar – they taste like a candy bar. You can’t even really taste dates in there. These are again (and I know I say this all the time), one of my new favorites.

24

This is such a great recipe!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Date Crumble Bar

Work together like pie crust for bottom layer:

1 cup flour

3 Tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 cup butter

Pack this mixture down very thin into bottom of 9″ x 13″ pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes.

For top layer mix together:

3 eggs, lightly beaten

2 Tablespoons flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup coconut

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

1 cup dates, chopped

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 to 1 cup nuts, chopped (I used walnuts)

Spread over crust.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes.

Cut while warm.

041044

I used my pastry cutter to mix the crust ingredients. When packing it into the bottom of the pan, it takes a little time to get it packed in there thinly. Be patient – I had to use my fingertips.

047050

I mixed the top layer ingredients while the crust was baking. It goes together fast.

062063

Before and after baking – it doesn’t look like the same pan.

089

They aren’t kidding when they say to cut while warm. The bars are so chewy that if you don’t cut them when they’re warm, I’m not sure it would be too easy to do when they’re cold.

080

I’m not kidding – these ended up being more like a candy bar. You can see how the top layer caramelized. Adding coconut and dates just makes them absolutely delicious. These bars are so chewy and sweet and just plain good! My family and I love these and you will, too!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

